Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made a few changes to give it more flavor: used Ro-tel tomatoes with chilis for the canned tomatoes, added a good amount of cilantro directly to the salsa, added some garlic powder (fresh minced garlic would have been better). I let everything marinate overnight and it was delicious with corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAHAWKINS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was very bland. Would be much better with additional seasoning. Definitely need to play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Beautiful blend of colors and flavors! I didn't follow the recipe because I didn't have canned beans or corn on hand instead I used left over black beans that I bought dry and cooked, and I used frozen corn that I cooked and cooled. I also had left over cilantro that I chopped very finely (stems & all)and mixed it right in with the canned tomatoes. No seasonings needed! Can't wait to make it again for friends/family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I have made this at least 10 times. It is definately a favorite among women. I leave out the cilantro and scale it down a bit. It makes a ton. I have also used a can of regular corn. It is always a hit and I think it is expected of me to bring it now. It is so easy to make so that is no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was very good. Needed to add red onion to replace the green onion, Gave it more flavor. Also added extra cilantro, garlic powder, onion powder, salt & pepper. Lime juice from fresh lime. It was very fresh and light. Very good for canned veggies. Would make again, for a summer bbq. its nice & light to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSAT81

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I left out the fresh tomatoes because it seemed like a little too much with the canned-I think next time I'll only use fresh. Also added jalapenos, 1/4 cup distilled white vinegar and cumin for a little extra flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe! Even my picky husband enjoyed this salsa. I have been looking for a black bean recipe and this one was the perfect find. I did make a few changes by using fresh corn from our garden (boiled and cut off the cob), lots of fresh cilantro, 3 cloves fresh garlic and a splash of red wine vinegar. This will be a new staple in this house! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I’ve been making this salsa for several years now and it’s always a big hit. The nice thing about this recipe is that it’s quick and easy. I make it often on camping trips, and with the exception of the green onions and cilantro, you can keep the ingredients in your food box at all times. Onions and cilantro are standard items for me as well, but if you didn’t have the cilantro with you I think it would still be fine. After all, who doesn’t at least have onions with them when they go camping?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
In the last 3 years, I have made this recipe more times than I can count. There are always requests and an empty bowl at the end of the get-together. My father-in-law loves it so much he just eats it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I love black bean and corn salsa, but I still like the tomatoe part of salsa and a little spice. This is a great simple recipe, but after several trials I prefer it with only 2 cans of black beans, 3 jalepenos, and half a bunch of green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States