Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I made this for my daughter's 2nd birthday party and got rave reviews and many requests for the recipe. I added 2 cloves of garlic, cumin, chopped cilantro, frozen white and yellow corn and green chilies. I chilled it for a day the flavor was absolutely wonderful. I used it on salads and also grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Good lord this makes enough to feed 100! Unfortunately, it wasn't all that great. The flavor was lacking AND then I added some cilantro, cumin, vinegar, and olive oil. Still just ok. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I wasn't sure my family would dig it but they did! Used a can of Mexican diced tomatoes (the ones w/ jalapenos) and a 4 oz. can of green chiles. Also, I added 1 TBSP. of fresh cilantro. Cilantro is not meant to be a garnish! Chilling is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I've served this recipe at a couple of gatherings,and received many rave reviews! This is a very fresh, tasty salsa with a bit of a kick. Awesome! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
2/26/07 - This recipe was excellent with a few modifications! I scale the recipe to 27 servings (2 cans black beans) and use a 16 oz. pkg. frozen corn, cooked. Add 1 Tbls. cumin, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/8-1/4 c. chopped cilantro and 1/3 c. fresh lime juice with pulp (1-3 limes depending on size.) Make sure you drain all cans before adding to salsa. It tastes best if you let it chill for 2 days. Excellent over rice! 6/20/06 - I have made this three times already. It makes taco salad wonderful! I just can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was good but I added suggestions from several other readers. I only used 3 cans diced tomatoes (they weren't in season yet), 2 cloves crushed garlic, 1 lime, squeezed, 1/2 small chopped onion, 2-3 tablespoons cilantro (we love it!) and cumin and salt to taste. This definitely needs to sit overnight, but it is such a FRESH salsa - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Bland, needs spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Made this easy recipe twice. Taste better after steeps for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I used sweet canned corn, left out the fresh tomato, and followed other reviewers’ suggestions to add chopped cilantro into the salsa along with lime juice. I didn’t care for the cilantro and will leave that out next time, although my inlaws thought it gave the salsa an authentic Mexican taste. I wish I had known that green onions are scallions – I couldn’t find anything called “green onions,” so I substituted a yellow one, which was a bit too strong…I’ll definitely try scallions next time! I also might use petite diced tomatoes and add the canned green chilis separately, since the tomato chunks were a little large for my taste. Overall, this recipe was super easy to prepare and could even be served as a salad if you drain out all the juice. I’m looking forward to trying it again with a few modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This recipe was a hit! The beans and corn really set it apart. I used the mild tomatoes with chilis, but I would recommend using the medium instead. This would be perfect with a bit more heat. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLMATHEO

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States