Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I made this for my daughter's 2nd birthday party and got rave reviews and many requests for the recipe. I added 2 cloves of garlic, cumin, chopped cilantro, frozen white and yellow corn and green chilies. I chilled it for a day the flavor was absolutely wonderful. I used it on salads and also grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Good lord this makes enough to feed 100! Unfortunately, it wasn't all that great. The flavor was lacking AND then I added some cilantro, cumin, vinegar, and olive oil. Still just ok. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I wasn't sure my family would dig it but they did! Used a can of Mexican diced tomatoes (the ones w/ jalapenos) and a 4 oz. can of green chiles. Also, I added 1 TBSP. of fresh cilantro. Cilantro is not meant to be a garnish! Chilling is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I've served this recipe at a couple of gatherings,and received many rave reviews! This is a very fresh, tasty salsa with a bit of a kick. Awesome! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
2/26/07 - This recipe was excellent with a few modifications! I scale the recipe to 27 servings (2 cans black beans) and use a 16 oz. pkg. frozen corn, cooked. Add 1 Tbls. cumin, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/8-1/4 c. chopped cilantro and 1/3 c. fresh lime juice with pulp (1-3 limes depending on size.) Make sure you drain all cans before adding to salsa. It tastes best if you let it chill for 2 days. Excellent over rice! 6/20/06 - I have made this three times already. It makes taco salad wonderful! I just can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was good but I added suggestions from several other readers. I only used 3 cans diced tomatoes (they weren't in season yet), 2 cloves crushed garlic, 1 lime, squeezed, 1/2 small chopped onion, 2-3 tablespoons cilantro (we love it!) and cumin and salt to taste. This definitely needs to sit overnight, but it is such a FRESH salsa - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Bland, needs spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Made this easy recipe twice. Taste better after steeps for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I used sweet canned corn, left out the fresh tomato, and followed other reviewers’ suggestions to add chopped cilantro into the salsa along with lime juice. I didn’t care for the cilantro and will leave that out next time, although my inlaws thought it gave the salsa an authentic Mexican taste. I wish I had known that green onions are scallions – I couldn’t find anything called “green onions,” so I substituted a yellow one, which was a bit too strong…I’ll definitely try scallions next time! I also might use petite diced tomatoes and add the canned green chilis separately, since the tomato chunks were a little large for my taste. Overall, this recipe was super easy to prepare and could even be served as a salad if you drain out all the juice. I’m looking forward to trying it again with a few modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This recipe was a hit! The beans and corn really set it apart. I used the mild tomatoes with chilis, but I would recommend using the medium instead. This would be perfect with a bit more heat. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLMATHEO

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States