Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did not use Goya products because my grocery doesn't carry them. I liked it so much that I made it my entire dinner! I omitted the jalapeno nacho slices because I knew it would be too hot for me if I added them. My husband, on the other hand, added a jalapeno ring to every bite! I served this with Baked Tostado Scoops. The salsa filled each little cup for a perfect bite of deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was delicious! I think next time I'll add some lime juice. This would also be great in a tortilla as a healthy wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Made this for Recipe Group and we really enjoyed it, though I knew we would because I make something similar to this that we just love! I made tacos for dinner last night and thought this would go well...it did! I halved the recipe and was not able to use Goya products, but made it exactly otherwise, also using the jalapeno slices. I would definately make this again, maybe adding a little lemon or lime juice next time! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I really liked this. I was surprised, because I have not been a fan of other corn and bean salsas. I made 1/2 recipe and followed everything except I also made 1/2 recipe of Allrecipe's "Ex-Girlfriend's Mom's Salsa Fresco (Pico de Gallo)," and used all of that in place of the container of pico de gallo. I had the ingredients to use up anyhow. For the corn I defrosted some frozen corn in the microwave for a minute and measured it using the bean can to get 1/2 can. Lastly, I left out the jalepenos, as I just don't care for the added heat. I could eat this with chips or a spoon. I definitely recommend homemade pico de gallo, if you have the time. The two together made this perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Only difference was 1 can reduced sodium black beans, 2 cans drained RoTel w/green chilies, sliced jalapeno peppers, hot mexican chili powder, 1tsp dried cilantro, sliced green onions and a few squirts of lime juice. Did not use Goya products. Definitely has a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
The taste was phenomenal, better than I expected. I did add some sweet red and orange peppers along with some onions for crunch and color. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I thought it was very good, though I made some changes. I only made a half batch, which was plenty. I used fresh tomatoes, though would probably opt for the ease of canned next time. I omitted the green onions and the bell pepper; the half red onion I used was still a bit overpowering, so next time I would use less. I skipped the avocado because I didn't think it would hold up well; I made this the night before so the flavors could blend and I though the avocado would turn brown and mushy. I also added cumin and pepper. It looked beautiful and had a nice kick. I served it with baked chips; a much healthier alternative to cookies and other party goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is a nice easy to throw together snack/appetizer. I didn't have Pico de Gallo, so I subbed prepared salsa. I agree that the cumin could use toned down a notch, but that should be done according to your personal preference. I'm not a canned corn fan, so I used frozen instead. THANKS, GOYA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I couldn’t find Goya Salsa Pico de Gallo at my market so I improvised and it still came out wonderful. I also made it a few hours in advance so the flavor has a chance to meld and develop. Served with tortilla chips, this makes a delicious snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
The longer this sits, the better the taste comes together. My boyfriend really enjoyed it with tortilla chips. I added in diced jalapenos instead of the slices and wish I would've added more. Really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States