Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group 9/10/10. I started with dried black beans and fresh corn, so my measurements weren't exact, but I tried to keep it proportional. I had never used pickled jalapeno before and wasn't sure what to expect. After refrigerating overnight to blend the flavors this was quite tasty, but hard to eat as a dip. It will, however make good filling for tacos and it would be good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did not use Goya products because my grocery doesn't carry them. I liked it so much that I made it my entire dinner! I omitted the jalapeno nacho slices because I knew it would be too hot for me if I added them. My husband, on the other hand, added a jalapeno ring to every bite! I served this with Baked Tostado Scoops. The salsa filled each little cup for a perfect bite of deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was delicious! I think next time I'll add some lime juice. This would also be great in a tortilla as a healthy wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Made this for Recipe Group and we really enjoyed it, though I knew we would because I make something similar to this that we just love! I made tacos for dinner last night and thought this would go well...it did! I halved the recipe and was not able to use Goya products, but made it exactly otherwise, also using the jalapeno slices. I would definately make this again, maybe adding a little lemon or lime juice next time! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Group. We liked this, but thought it needed to be jazzed up. I added a red jalapeno from the garden instead of the pickled jalapeno nacho slices, but because I seeded my jalapeno it didn’t contribute much heat. I also added some green onion, including the green tops to add a little more color to this. I made 1/4 of this recipe (for just the two of us) using 1/2 can of black beans (froze the rest which works really well), Pace chunky salsa, and frozen corn, rather than the Goya products. I served this with Mexican Grilled Chicken (also from this site) which went well with this salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I rated this a 4 because I think mine is better. :) http://allrecipes.com/CustomRecipe/62445685/Pico-De-Gallo-With-Beans-and-Corn/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Only difference was 1 can reduced sodium black beans, 2 cans drained RoTel w/green chilies, sliced jalapeno peppers, hot mexican chili powder, 1tsp dried cilantro, sliced green onions and a few squirts of lime juice. Did not use Goya products. Definitely has a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
The taste was phenomenal, better than I expected. I did add some sweet red and orange peppers along with some onions for crunch and color. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This recipe has entirely too much cumin in it. I will make my own recipe next time, with less spice and some fresh tomatoes instead. The pico de gallo is fine if you don't have fresh, but I prefer a fresh salsa recipe to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I liked this recipe but felt it was missing something taste wise and was just boring with Tostitoes. I baked a tortilla shell in the oven at 350 for 8 minutes or until it was a little brown and crispy then topped the tortilla with homemade plain hummus. I then layered the black bean salsa on top and cut into four pieces like a pizza and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States