Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group 9/10/10. I started with dried black beans and fresh corn, so my measurements weren't exact, but I tried to keep it proportional. I had never used pickled jalapeno before and wasn't sure what to expect. After refrigerating overnight to blend the flavors this was quite tasty, but hard to eat as a dip. It will, however make good filling for tacos and it would be good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did not use Goya products because my grocery doesn't carry them. I liked it so much that I made it my entire dinner! I omitted the jalapeno nacho slices because I knew it would be too hot for me if I added them. My husband, on the other hand, added a jalapeno ring to every bite! I served this with Baked Tostado Scoops. The salsa filled each little cup for a perfect bite of deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was delicious! I think next time I'll add some lime juice. This would also be great in a tortilla as a healthy wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Made this for Recipe Group and we really enjoyed it, though I knew we would because I make something similar to this that we just love! I made tacos for dinner last night and thought this would go well...it did! I halved the recipe and was not able to use Goya products, but made it exactly otherwise, also using the jalapeno slices. I would definately make this again, maybe adding a little lemon or lime juice next time! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Group. We liked this, but thought it needed to be jazzed up. I added a red jalapeno from the garden instead of the pickled jalapeno nacho slices, but because I seeded my jalapeno it didn’t contribute much heat. I also added some green onion, including the green tops to add a little more color to this. I made 1/4 of this recipe (for just the two of us) using 1/2 can of black beans (froze the rest which works really well), Pace chunky salsa, and frozen corn, rather than the Goya products. I served this with Mexican Grilled Chicken (also from this site) which went well with this salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I rated this a 4 because I think mine is better. :) http://allrecipes.com/CustomRecipe/62445685/Pico-De-Gallo-With-Beans-and-Corn/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Only difference was 1 can reduced sodium black beans, 2 cans drained RoTel w/green chilies, sliced jalapeno peppers, hot mexican chili powder, 1tsp dried cilantro, sliced green onions and a few squirts of lime juice. Did not use Goya products. Definitely has a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
The taste was phenomenal, better than I expected. I did add some sweet red and orange peppers along with some onions for crunch and color. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This recipe has entirely too much cumin in it. I will make my own recipe next time, with less spice and some fresh tomatoes instead. The pico de gallo is fine if you don't have fresh, but I prefer a fresh salsa recipe to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I liked this recipe but felt it was missing something taste wise and was just boring with Tostitoes. I baked a tortilla shell in the oven at 350 for 8 minutes or until it was a little brown and crispy then topped the tortilla with homemade plain hummus. I then layered the black bean salsa on top and cut into four pieces like a pizza and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States