Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheKitchenFairy
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I made this *almost* according to the recipe. I used fresh tomatoes & jalapeños instead of canned. It was great & gone in minutes! I made a 2nd batch for the Super Bowl tomorrow and added my own twist on this recipe. I diced yellow, red, green & orange bell peppers & a small white onion and to give it an extra kick a cubed an 8oz brick of pepper jack cheese. So far getting a ?? from the taste testers!! Great recipe & a great one to make your own based on preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKitchenFairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I thought it was very good, though I made some changes. I only made a half batch, which was plenty. I used fresh tomatoes, though would probably opt for the ease of canned next time. I omitted the green onions and the bell pepper; the half red onion I used was still a bit overpowering, so next time I would use less. I skipped the avocado because I didn't think it would hold up well; I made this the night before so the flavors could blend and I though the avocado would turn brown and mushy. I also added cumin and pepper. It looked beautiful and had a nice kick. I served it with baked chips; a much healthier alternative to cookies and other party goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
The longer this sits, the better the taste comes together. My boyfriend really enjoyed it with tortilla chips. I added in diced jalapenos instead of the slices and wish I would've added more. Really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I couldn’t find Goya Salsa Pico de Gallo at my market so I improvised and it still came out wonderful. I also made it a few hours in advance so the flavor has a chance to meld and develop. Served with tortilla chips, this makes a delicious snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is a nice easy to throw together snack/appetizer. I didn't have Pico de Gallo, so I subbed prepared salsa. I agree that the cumin could use toned down a notch, but that should be done according to your personal preference. I'm not a canned corn fan, so I used frozen instead. THANKS, GOYA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I really liked this. I was surprised, because I have not been a fan of other corn and bean salsas. I made 1/2 recipe and followed everything except I also made 1/2 recipe of Allrecipe's "Ex-Girlfriend's Mom's Salsa Fresco (Pico de Gallo)," and used all of that in place of the container of pico de gallo. I had the ingredients to use up anyhow. For the corn I defrosted some frozen corn in the microwave for a minute and measured it using the bean can to get 1/2 can. Lastly, I left out the jalepenos, as I just don't care for the added heat. I could eat this with chips or a spoon. I definitely recommend homemade pico de gallo, if you have the time. The two together made this perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I liked this recipe but felt it was missing something taste wise and was just boring with Tostitoes. I baked a tortilla shell in the oven at 350 for 8 minutes or until it was a little brown and crispy then topped the tortilla with homemade plain hummus. I then layered the black bean salsa on top and cut into four pieces like a pizza and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This recipe has entirely too much cumin in it. I will make my own recipe next time, with less spice and some fresh tomatoes instead. The pico de gallo is fine if you don't have fresh, but I prefer a fresh salsa recipe to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
The taste was phenomenal, better than I expected. I did add some sweet red and orange peppers along with some onions for crunch and color. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Only difference was 1 can reduced sodium black beans, 2 cans drained RoTel w/green chilies, sliced jalapeno peppers, hot mexican chili powder, 1tsp dried cilantro, sliced green onions and a few squirts of lime juice. Did not use Goya products. Definitely has a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States