Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
I made this for a pot-luck and it disappeared. It's a good thing that I didn't bring all of it because my husband devoured what I left at home! If you're concerned about the hotness, I found that the jalapenos didn't really make this dish very hot. I had an orange sweet pepper, so I used that instead of the green. It added a nice color combination. This is a very pretty salad and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
I have made this recipe for a group of friends and for a church pot luck luncheon. Even the men who usually do not touch veggies devoured this! I've been asked to make more for next time. It is wonderful as a dip with chips also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
I don't like pimenntos so I left them out. Also, this will freeze well if you leave out the avocados, that way I can make a big batch and freeze it (lots of chopping involved). I didn't seed or peel my tomatos so I only had to use 1/2 cup of salad dressing. It's great! Make some and freeze it for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
I made this for a Mexican theme part and received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
i've had to reprint this recipe over and over, because i always get asked for the recipe. my whole family loves this one. definitley worth the time and effort. i made a double batch for large party the last time and had a little left over. so i drained off the salad dressing and added a can of nacho cheese soup. it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This was great! I did make a couple of changes though due to personal preference. I left out the tomatoes and pimentos and added sliced black olives and cubes of cheddar cheese. Also I only used 1/4 to 1/2 cup of dressing. I have made it twice and both times it was gone in a matter of hours. The last batch my non-vegetable eating brother ate the rest right out of the bowl with a spoon! I will make again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
I am not quite sure why the 1 user didn't care for this dish. I made the mistake of fixing it last night for a mexican theme tonight. Now I have to fix another bowl today because there is only about a cup left. This is such an easy recipe and it does NOT have to be followed by the letter to turn out grand.....Be creative...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
MY husband and I don't like pimentos, so I left them out, and this salad was still delicious. We ate it plain, then as a dip with chips, then even used it as a salsa on our tacos!! GOOD STUFF!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I've made this salad a couple times since trying it. Very easy, and no cooking involved. I've omitted the pimentos, but the salad doesn't need it. I love black beans, so I put equal parts black beans and corn. Also, I'd add a red or yellow bell pepper for more color and a little more sweetness than the green. Don't skimp on the cilantro, and for some additional punch add a little more jalapeno pepper. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
The combination of veggies was delicious and beautiful! Bright yellow, red, green, brown,....It was quickly devoured with chips by a group of about 10. The recipe was requested by nearly everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States