Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
This was great, I didn't use as many jalapeno peppers because I don't like it really hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
I don't like pimenntos so I left them out. Also, this will freeze well if you leave out the avocados, that way I can make a big batch and freeze it (lots of chopping involved). I didn't seed or peel my tomatos so I only had to use 1/2 cup of salad dressing. It's great! Make some and freeze it for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
I made this for a pot-luck and it disappeared. It's a good thing that I didn't bring all of it because my husband devoured what I left at home! If you're concerned about the hotness, I found that the jalapenos didn't really make this dish very hot. I had an orange sweet pepper, so I used that instead of the green. It added a nice color combination. This is a very pretty salad and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
I made this for a Mexican theme part and received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
MY husband and I don't like pimentos, so I left them out, and this salad was still delicious. We ate it plain, then as a dip with chips, then even used it as a salsa on our tacos!! GOOD STUFF!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
i've had to reprint this recipe over and over, because i always get asked for the recipe. my whole family loves this one. definitley worth the time and effort. i made a double batch for large party the last time and had a little left over. so i drained off the salad dressing and added a can of nacho cheese soup. it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I can't say enough bad things about this recipe. Mixing the ingredients makes it looks terrible and completely unappetizing. I followed the recipe to the letter, and ended up with enough salad to feed 100 people (unless for some reason this is the only dish available). I brought this salad to a mexican theme potluck party, and it was a TOTAL flop. No one touched it. Very embarrassing, a waste of money, and a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
I have made this recipe for a group of friends and for a church pot luck luncheon. Even the men who usually do not touch veggies devoured this! I've been asked to make more for next time. It is wonderful as a dip with chips also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This was great! I did make a couple of changes though due to personal preference. I left out the tomatoes and pimentos and added sliced black olives and cubes of cheddar cheese. Also I only used 1/4 to 1/2 cup of dressing. I have made it twice and both times it was gone in a matter of hours. The last batch my non-vegetable eating brother ate the rest right out of the bowl with a spoon! I will make again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
this salad was good. no one oohed over it, but it was a coloful addition to my meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States