Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
For morons like me, please note WEAR GLOVES WHEN YOU CHOP/HANDLE JALAPENOS! Good gracious, I'm still paying for yesterday's mistake. But this salad is amazing and worth the days of pain I will endure. I've already had several people ask me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Delicious, Fresh & Easily adaptable. I used Fresh corn that I grilled then cut off the cobb. Added a red pepper which I prefer to pimento's as it's crunchier. Instead of Italian dressing I used Lime juice, Olive oil and added some more Southwest seasonings. I omitted the avocado as I felt it would be too mushy also, but I wanted to add sliced black olives - maybe next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I make a big batch of this for lunches almost every other week. Love it! I usually use two cans of black beans and one can of corn (better as a lunch). I don't include the jalapeno peppers or the pimentos, mostly because I don't keep them around. And I often use cucumber instead of green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I just made this as a side for friends coming for dinner tonight and snuck a taste. It is delicious and so so so easy to put together. This recipe makes a whole bunch, but I guessing it will last for snacks for days. Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khenry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Holy is this good! I literally just made this...I didn't have the avacodo,jalepenos or the cilantro (will add that later today after a trip to the store)...but even without it. AWESOME. I left out the onions & pimentos...not a fan of either. I also used canned tomatoes that I rinsed and drained. No Italian dressing, just fresh garlic chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have made this recipe so many times and each time there are no leftovers! I have taken it to potlucks, family get-togethers, picnics and everybody goes crazy over this. I do leave out the jalapeno and pimentos and also add an extra avocado (or 2). There is NO way IMO that you can mess this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amynoacid
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This recipe is just fine as is, but I tailored it a bit to my preferences. Here they are: - A little less corn to prevent drowning out the other flavors in the recipe. - Only 1 jalapeno pepper because I wanted something mild. - Either use a large avocado or two avocados. My small one didn't suffice, but that's b/c I love avocados. - Way more pimentos. I used 2 out of the 3 whole pimentos from a 12 oz jar and chopped them. - I ditched the tomatoes out of personal preference. If you use them, use cherry tomatoes to avoid including the watery, gushy innards of big tomatoes that would make this dish runny. It turned out amazing for me! I like that it's a big batch recipe, so I can store it for a great, healthy, but flavorful lunch throughout the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is really a great salad. The only thing is that don't expect it to be ready in 20 minutes unless you are one fast chopper or buy pre-chopped! I added some banana pepper simply because we have a bountiful yield of these tasty peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
very good, but must remember that the recipe is large enough for several people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I've made this many many times, and I LOVE it every time, so does everyone I serve it to. I do make it slightly different tho, with no bell peppers, pimentos & usualy no avocado. Plus I at-least quadruple the garlic, using minced fresh! YUMMMMM! Thank you so much for this one! Definitely on my faves list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States