Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was wonderful. A nice healthy side dish. I used canned black beans and did rinse them. I used fresh corn, not canned. Instead of jalapeno's, I added hot sauce to taste, just to give it just a bit of a kick. I don't like things too spicy so this was a better way to control how spicy to make it. I used a yellow pepper and I cut off the white part of the green onions. I just used the green part. Make sure to seed the tomatoes or all the tomato "gunk" will ruin the sauce flavoring. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I used kosher salt. The cilantro is key to this salad. Don't skimp on it. This salad is very colorful and all the people at my party asked me for this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Made this probably 2 dozen times.....LOVE IT!! We don't care for the taste of cilantro, doesn't matter, it's great even without it. I chop up the avocado as needed and serve it separately to add as needed so it doesn't get brown and mushy in the leftovers. I use Good Seasons Italian dressing mix because that's what we always have around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I've made this receipe several times and I don't even get to chill it. My family instantly starts eating it! Every time I make it, I get several compliments and everyone wants to receipe. The only thing I elimante is the avocado, just because it turns brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I've taken this to more than one potluck, and it always goes over well. I love that it's vegetarian, so everyone can have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Wilkes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ogallala, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Extremely good salad, however takes a while to prep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and it is a favorite of my husband and myself. Didn't use the pimentos or the avocado. I have substituted at times canned tomatoes drained. Also added lots more cilantro as I feel you can never have enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I loved this salad!! I did change a couple of ingredients ..I did not put jalapeno peppers or fresh tomatoes. I used canned tomatoes with chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Needed a little more kick for me. But solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadeeLuck84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this salad and the only thing i did diffrent was made fresh blackbeans it was tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Not bad! Although quite yummy, I prefer a similar recipe just a **tad** better.... I've been making a version of this for years. It's called Texas caviar. The main difference between my recipe and this one is two-fold. I substitute black eyed peas for black beans and serve as a dip with tortilla chips, NEVER as a salad (and because mine calls for black eyed peas, I serve it as a New Year's Eve party appetizer!). My recipe also does not call for avocado and yields a MUCH smaller batch (FYI, this feeds a CROWD!!!). I usually add red AND green bell peppers and omit the tomato altogether. By omitting the avocado and tomato, this will keep for days. As is, this is NOT something you'd want to nosh on a day later (the avocado turns brown and the tomatoes turn to mush) . For a fun twist, I served this alongside Mexican lasagna with Cool Ranch flavored Dorito's for scooping (yum!). My neighbor REALLY liked this and asked for the recipe! Thanks for sharing one of my favorites on here, Merle! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States