Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very good! Made a huge bowl for a party, and it was gone quickly. I wish I made more. I did not use avocados and pimentos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA
Living In: Shirley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Love this salad - don't know how you could go wrong with it! I doubled the black beans and added another jalapeno. Wonderful! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Tasty! I have a habit, for better or worse, of not following recipes to the letter (except in baking). A quick word of warning to those with the same habit: don't overdo the tomatoes. I love tomatoes but too many of them made a giant acidic puddle of liquid at the bottom. Cumin was a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
My whole family loved this! I first had it when visiting a friend clear across the country, and asked her for the recipe. She made a copy for me and I had to smile when I read that it was from Allrecipes, my favorite recipe source. One daughter does not like black beans, corn, or tomatoes and was hesitant to try it, but then raved about the combination. Following my friend's example, I added cubed pepper jack cheese, but then was concerned it may be too hot for my kids with the jalapenos, so left them out. Next time I will probably add jalapenos from my garden and use Monterey Jack cheese. I didn't have a lime so used a small lemon. I used garlic powder and sea salt instead of garlic salt, and no pimentos, minor changes. Our power was out, so it was perfect to fix by flashlight! Due to that, I just served it with tortilla chips. I couldn't stop eating it, it was great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This was Awesome !! the only change I made was to leave out the avocado and only used half of a jar of the pimentos .. Used as a salsa dip with whole wheat tortilla chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. The only thing I do differently is only use one can of corn. I also use my own homemade Italian dressing. It's the best stuff ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I have made this salad a number of times. I love the leftovers. I usually wait and add the avocado to the portion I am serving. It is huge so I half the recipe and have used canned jalapeno peppers and red, orange or yellow peppers according to whats on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Made this for a family gathering today. I did follow a lot of other review suggestions. In the end I used 2 cans of black beans rinsed well, 1 can of corn, 1 cup of Trader Joes frozen roasted corn defrosted, 2 cans of diced tomatoes w/chilies, a little over half a red onion diced, zest and juice of 1 lime, 1/2 cup chopped cilantro, about 6 diced red/yellow/orange mini sweet peppers, 1/2 cup of italian dressing and salt and pepper tom taste. I also used a few dashes of Goya Adobo seasoning and some grinds from a tex mex chipotle spice blend. I made it first thing in the morning and let it chill until about 1 pm. We ate it around 2pm with tortilla chips. We grazed it the rest of the day. Everyone seemed to enjoy it. Thanks for posting this recipe. Can't wait until I can try it with grilled chicken or with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Everytime I make this dish it disappears in flash with many requests for the recipe. Its a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was wonderful. A nice healthy side dish. I used canned black beans and did rinse them. I used fresh corn, not canned. Instead of jalapeno's, I added hot sauce to taste, just to give it just a bit of a kick. I don't like things too spicy so this was a better way to control how spicy to make it. I used a yellow pepper and I cut off the white part of the green onions. I just used the green part. Make sure to seed the tomatoes or all the tomato "gunk" will ruin the sauce flavoring. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I used kosher salt. The cilantro is key to this salad. Don't skimp on it. This salad is very colorful and all the people at my party asked me for this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States