Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Not very tasty, even with the addition of nutritional yeast, garlic, and walnuts. I used some panko (bread crumbs, about 1/2 cup), but they still were a little crumbly. I think it helps to form a patty in your hand, you can kind of press together it to form a firmer burger. It tasted like egg, which grossed me out. Would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
SO good! I will never buy black bean burgers again. I followed the suggestion to add bread crumbs (I sprinkled until it seemed "sticky" enough) and served with sharp cheddar cheese and guacamole. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Added chili powder and some oats. A little dry...maybe I didn't do something right. 2nd time: added saltines, more rice and lentils, since i'd blended all original ingredients. Alittle bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Easy and very, very good. As a vegetarian, I'm very picky about my burgers. These rival the Veggie burgers from Ruby Tuesdays. Foodie boyfriend also loved them. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTENHIPS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I omitted the onions, added about a handful of oatmeal that I processed in the food processor and some bread crumbs, and added cumin, chili powder, and garlic powder. My family loved them and is begging to have them again! Next time I will add some salt to the mixture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very tasty! I loved the flavor but would probably add a little garlic next time. I'd love to figure out how to make them "stay together" a little better, but other than that a nice low carb healthy meal! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious! Added 1 tbspn tomato paste, 1 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp cumin, shredded 4 cloves garlic, shredded onion, 1/2 salt, 1/4 cup breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this for my picky vegetarian son and he loves it so much. He says its better than the store bought version and wants me to make it all the time. I also use the filling for tacos and tostadas. the only reason for the 4 star instead of 5 is how sticky it is and you have to really watch that it doesnt get all stuck in the pan. I added flour but it is still a pain to make. worth it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These 'burgers' were very tasty. I am a die-hard meat fan, but I was pleasantly surprised with these burgers. I loved this recipe and have made it several times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
These were really tasty however they were not burgers. I just ate the "burger" without the bun because it wasn't the right consistency for a burger. I had a hard time keeping them together and I even added a handful of breadcrumbs as suggested. I will be making these again because they tasted really well (with the addition of garlic powder and chili powder) but I will probably bake them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States