Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Delicious! Will make again. Everyone loved them, even my picky 7 y.o.! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great recipe; easy to prepare (if the rice is cooked in advance). I knew, as I was making these, that they would be rather bland, so I added salt & pepper (I was very surprised they were absent from the recipe) and also a healthy pinch of cumin. Even at that, the next time I make them, I will be kicking the flavour up a notch or two. The best praise for this recipe is that they stayed together very nicely -- something most bean burger recipes don't seem to do. Thanks, Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I took out the onion and salsa, and added corn instead, along with some chile powder for flavor. I also added about 1/2 cup flour to help it bind. The burgers turned out delicious with barbecue sauce on top. I will make these again for sure, maybe with some homemade guacamole or salsa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great dish! It was a little wet and wasn't holding together well, so I added about a half cup more cooked brown rice, a 1/2 cup of grated cheddar cheese and about two large handfuls of uncooked oatmeal. I used a small red onion instead and threw a few dashes of Frank's Red Hot sauce in there for a little kick. To top it off, I added some fresh guacamole and sour cream. It was DELICIOUS, and I will definitely be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I added garlic and onion powder, but forgot to read reviews until the patties would not hold together. I added oatmeal to the remaining mixture which helped a lot. However, these were very bland and simply tasted like black beans. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Tastes good, like burrito filling, but it crumbled instead of making nice patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Pretty good, but it needs taco seasoning and bread crumbs!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
good recipe but omitted the egg and no flour. I used guar gum for a binder a d worked beautifully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were good but as written the would not stay torether. I added approx 1/2 cup bread crumbs. I think the sauce was very good and helped these out alot without the sauce they needed something else. I will be making these again because I have a bunch of the rice and bean mixture left that I am freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Yummy, I added freshly minced garlic and corn, as well as s&p and chili powder. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States