Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were great! Even my picky 7-yr old loved them...I did make a few small changes, though. A handful of breadcrumbs helped them hold together much better, and I added some chili powder and hot sauce before making into patties. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These were awesome! I added a large handful of seasoned breadcrumbs based on previous reviews and they held together perfectly. First vegetarian burger I have really enjoyed. Hubby liked them too (and he is a meat eater!). I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was a great recipe; the burgers tasted fantastic. The only change I made was adding about half a cup of flour to the mix to make them hold together better when I cooked them because they fell apart otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
These were excellent! I doubled the recipe, added a handful of breadcrumbs, but instead of salsa, I added two chopped chipotle peppers and 4 TB of the adobo sauce. I added sliced avocado along with the other toppings. My 15 y/o vegetarian son said they are better than any other veggie burgers he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This recipe needs some changes and additions. I added vegetable oil and flour to help it stick. I added garlic powder, cumin, chili powder and seasoned salt to the mixture. I topped it with guacamole and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I thought these were really good. The rice adds some firmness to the burger. I also added some crsushed whole wheat saltines, salt, pepper, chili powder, and a little chopped garlic. These were great! Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were very good and easy, but I made some changes. I added some frozen corn, garlic powder, cumin and chili powder to the mixture before making the "patties" - which, even with bread crumbs, didn't stay together all that well - but good enough to eat! I didn't have sour cream, so I mixed the salsa with plain yogurt and it was delicious. Also, I didn't have buns so I used flat, Greek pita from my freezer. I sprayed cooking spray on one side, gave it a shake of garlic, and heated it up in the pan after the patties were done. I made my patties in the shape of half of a pita so I could make sandwiches. One pita cut in half, patty inside, and then cut in half to make it easy to pick up. My husband loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
We really enjoyed these. I doubled, almost tripled the recipe, including 2 cans black and one can garbanzo beans (reduced sodium). I formed the patties into approx. 4 oz portions and froze them on a cookie sheet; then wrapped them individually. They cook easily right out of the freezer and hold their shape - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
The flavor of these was very good, but mine wouldn't hold together very well into what I could call a burger. I made it exactly as the recipe called for, so I don't know if other people are more tolerant of crumbling burgers, or something went wrong with mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
these were great! I did add 3 cloves garlic, and then no bread crumbs, just saltine crackers to hold them together (I used 33 of them, yep I counted). Will definitely make again, but will double the recipe so I can freeze some! They are even better as left overs, as the flavors mesh well. These were the best I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States