Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is a really great recipe that me and my husband enjoy on a somewhat regular basis. The only thing that we do different is to add bread crumbs to help hold it all together, but it is excellent as it is. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLynnP08

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I got this recipe from TOH's magazine (Fun Food 2008) and decided to make it for myself. Definitely do not follow the recipe as is, unless you don't mind a huge mess - read the recommendations others have made beforehand! I had a huge mess - they just fell apart as soon as I tried to turn it over. The taste is okay - a little bland...I would definitely suggest adding your favorite spices to kick it up a little bit. I want to try these again, so next time, I will use bread crumbs and some chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Surprisingly easy for my first try at making a veggie burger. I made as is and got a little excited and prematurely flipped which caused them to break apart a little. I just mushed them back together and the more they cooked, the better they held together. I did turn my temp down which seemed to help. They were very tasty and filling. Will definitely make again and again. There are endless possibilities as to what I could add to make them taste different each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
These were excellent! I doubled the recipe, added a handful of breadcrumbs, but instead of salsa, I added two chopped chipotle peppers and 4 TB of the adobo sauce. I added sliced avocado along with the other toppings. My 15 y/o vegetarian son said they are better than any other veggie burgers he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
These were really good, but I also added 1 c of seasoned bread crumbs to hold them together. The first batch was a little gooey on the inside, so I made the subsequent ones thinner, and they were perfect! Non-vegetarian husband and son loved them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Used Lundberg's Brown and Wild Rice Blend for the rice; added one-fourth cup bread crumbs. At the last minute, I also added one-half rib celery, diced fine. Made six thin patties, bun-sized. Didn't have any problems with crumbling, but the one I cooked did partially split when turned but no biggie with that. I will try these again, perhaps adding more seasonings and/or veggies such as finely grated carrots or chopped spinach. I like the salsa/sour cream sauce but would make the sauce earlier, just an hour or so, next time. Used very thick homemade salsa. (Thick because I made a ton and froze; had to drain off the excess water after thawing.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This recipe has great potential. However, as written, it is very bland. I think some mushrooms, nuts, garlic, more salsa and other seasonings would perk it up into a great recipe. As written I did have to add some bread crumbs so I could shape them into burgers that held. They did hold up on the grill nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is definitely a keeper! My kids loved them. They were very meaty, much better than premade veggie burgers. I used a food processor to mix and used bread crumbs as other reviewers suggested. Some garlic powder added good flavoring. Very good with the salsa/sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
For the amount of preperation this dish required i expected it to be better, the taste was boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was a great recipe; the burgers tasted fantastic. The only change I made was adding about half a cup of flour to the mix to make them hold together better when I cooked them because they fell apart otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States