Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I thought theses tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharipassey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very good! I added breadcrumbs after reading the other reviews, & also added a pinch of red pepper flakes. I was out of salsa, but some jarred pizza sauce, sliced olives, & cheddar cheese on top did the trick! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These are great burgers! My whole family (even the non-vegetarians) love them! I generally use about 1/4 cup of whole wheat bread crumbs to help them stick together a bit better. Sometimes I add a little ground flax seed, too for extra nutrients. I like to have these on a toasted bun with melted pepper jack cheese and a slice of tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I don't know how anyone would make these without bread/cracker crumbs-- of course it needs a binder. Mine fried up but completely flavorless--try also adding cumin/pepper/thyme etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Great flavor, but mine didn't hold together to well, I don't think I mashed the black beans enough. Despite the lack of cohesion, they still got eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jovi16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I thought this came out pretty yummy... I followed recommendations to add breadcrumbs . Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookCapoise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
these were great! I did add 3 cloves garlic, and then no bread crumbs, just saltine crackers to hold them together (I used 33 of them, yep I counted). Will definitely make again, but will double the recipe so I can freeze some! They are even better as left overs, as the flavors mesh well. These were the best I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this exactly as shown. The flavor was good, but way too mushy for my liking. If I make it again I will definitely add bread crumbs to give it some substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjsjohnson67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Tasty, but definitely add bread crumbs or something to help them stick together better. I made smaller patties to keep them more manageable, as well. I served them on freshly-made rosemary foccacia bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I'm only giving this a 4 because the original recipe seemed a bit bland. However, this is a great starting point for delicious and convenient patties! I took others' suggestions of adding breadcrumbs and also seasoned these with adobo seasoning and cumin. Instead of brown rice I used quinoa. Will DEFINITELY make these again thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States