Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
awesome and really delicious! pretty easy, though you can't really do them just for yourself. but great for a party or bbq. we had everybody help and it was a lot of fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I am a vegetarian, and my husband is a meat eater... To convience him to eat this burger, I had to point out that meat eaters were eating this too LOL. He is eating it as I am typing this! Thank you for posting this! I did add bread crumbs to the mixture along with shredded cheddar cheese. My husband, when asking for seconds, says "I'm not thinking this as vegie patties, I'm thinking about this as a bean and rice side with sour cream and salsa."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is a base recipe. A good one but a base none the less. There is no seasoning outside of the salsa. I did make a changes to veganize it. First I cooked the the rice in a "no beef" broth. To which I added catsup and worsteschire, and a dash of liquid smoke. When the rice was done but still hot I added a tablespoon of ground flaxseed. The egg makes too much moisture. I stirred the flax into the rice until it had bound. I also added Stacy's hamburger seasoning from this site. After all that I put in my rinsed beans. I mashed with a fork and took my time so the starch would have time to come out and create a binder. By the time I was done it was hold but I but the mixture in the fridge so they would hold up perfectly. I fried them up in the skillet and they were pretty good. Nice texture. This is a great base to play around with, especially with such inexpensive ingredients. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
We really enjoyed these. I doubled, almost tripled the recipe, including 2 cans black and one can garbanzo beans (reduced sodium). I formed the patties into approx. 4 oz portions and froze them on a cookie sheet; then wrapped them individually. They cook easily right out of the freezer and hold their shape - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These were great and very easy to make. I followed the recipe as it is. It didn't really hold together all that well. I saw where a lot of people added bread crumbs to help with that but being gluten free it wasn't an option for me. A crowd pleaser at my abode nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubba101212
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Love love love this recipe. I did as previous reviewers have done and added a handful of bread crumbs to the mix, and I also popped them in the oven at 375 for 10 minutes or so after skillet cooking to set them a little better. They were great! I have since made it several times and added shredded carrots just to up the nutrition without really changing the flavor. Also, I have skipped the salsa-sour cream sauce in lieu of mayo and mustard; either way is great! My beef loving husband even really loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
An enjoyable take on the veggie patty. However, my husband recommends adding salt, because otherwise the recipe just doesn't have that "oomph."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I cooked on silpat, added flour, panko bread crumbs, dry bread crumbs, Chili Powder, Garlic Powder, Cumin Yummy and it stayed compact and did not come apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coquille, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I was surprised at how well my family (all 4 kids too) liked these. I have never tried serving veggie burgers before for fear that they would just go to waste, but I have had this thing for black beans lately... LOL! In my opinion, these were better as leftovers. I refrigerated the leftover "burger" mix and then had it for lunch today (made them 2 days ago for dinner) and they tasted better to me. It may have been because I flattened them a bit more, or because the flavors melded together a bit while in the fridge. Either way - delicious. I served them on a hamburger bun the first night and on a toasted english muffin today. the english muffin was a nice change and added a bit more crunch - YUM. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I used a lot of the suggestions because they all sounded like they would work to keep the burgers from falling apart. I used a bit of flour - breadcrumbs - a dab of olive oil & sprayed the pan. I didn't use catsup like I normally would - I wanted to taste the flavor to see if I would make them again. I'm sure I will be making them again - they are the best veggie burger I've had so far. Thanks! BTW with all the extras - mine didn't fall apart at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States