Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were very good and easy, but I made some changes. I added some frozen corn, garlic powder, cumin and chili powder to the mixture before making the "patties" - which, even with bread crumbs, didn't stay together all that well - but good enough to eat! I didn't have sour cream, so I mixed the salsa with plain yogurt and it was delicious. Also, I didn't have buns so I used flat, Greek pita from my freezer. I sprayed cooking spray on one side, gave it a shake of garlic, and heated it up in the pan after the patties were done. I made my patties in the shape of half of a pita so I could make sandwiches. One pita cut in half, patty inside, and then cut in half to make it easy to pick up. My husband loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I was very disappointed in these burgers as I like vegetarian food and they had many good reviews. Although I followed the recipe and added bread crumbs as suggested, they were still mushy and pasty. My family ate them, but I will not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
my meat & pot boy did not like these...however, I really did. Like a few other reviewers, mine did not hold together. my batch made 3 good size burgers; i added bread crumbs to the last burger and it held together great! i added a little cumin to the mix as well. loved the salsa/sour cream mix. next time i'll try yogurt instead of sc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These were awesome! I added a large handful of seasoned breadcrumbs based on previous reviews and they held together perfectly. First vegetarian burger I have really enjoyed. Hubby liked them too (and he is a meat eater!). I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This recipe was so easy! I used kidney beans instead because it was what I had and added on chili pepper. I saw that others had trouble making them stick together so I added about a 1/2 cup of flour (give or take). They turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Very good flavor! I added some 2 hang fulls of crushed crackers, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, and about a table spoon of flour. They stuck together much better after this and were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were great! Even my picky 7-yr old loved them...I did make a few small changes, though. A handful of breadcrumbs helped them hold together much better, and I added some chili powder and hot sauce before making into patties. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
They took forever to cook, fell apart, and were still mushy in the middle. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These were delicious - my husband and I ate them on english muffins instead of hamburger buns, which seemed to add a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snl2006

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
these veggie burgers are tasty and filling. the mixture seemed a bit runny at first; but i put my bowl in the fridge for a few minutes, and it seemed to thicken up quite a bit, and helped the patty hold while cooking. i suggest pan frying in a small amount of vegetable oil, on medium-high heat for 6-7 minutes per side to help them firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States