Black Bean Rice Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I thought theses tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharipassey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very good! I added breadcrumbs after reading the other reviews, & also added a pinch of red pepper flakes. I was out of salsa, but some jarred pizza sauce, sliced olives, & cheddar cheese on top did the trick! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These are great burgers! My whole family (even the non-vegetarians) love them! I generally use about 1/4 cup of whole wheat bread crumbs to help them stick together a bit better. Sometimes I add a little ground flax seed, too for extra nutrients. I like to have these on a toasted bun with melted pepper jack cheese and a slice of tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I don't know how anyone would make these without bread/cracker crumbs-- of course it needs a binder. Mine fried up but completely flavorless--try also adding cumin/pepper/thyme etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Great flavor, but mine didn't hold together to well, I don't think I mashed the black beans enough. Despite the lack of cohesion, they still got eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jovi16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I thought this came out pretty yummy... I followed recommendations to add breadcrumbs . Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookCapoise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
these were great! I did add 3 cloves garlic, and then no bread crumbs, just saltine crackers to hold them together (I used 33 of them, yep I counted). Will definitely make again, but will double the recipe so I can freeze some! They are even better as left overs, as the flavors mesh well. These were the best I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this exactly as shown. The flavor was good, but way too mushy for my liking. If I make it again I will definitely add bread crumbs to give it some substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjsjohnson67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Tasty, but definitely add bread crumbs or something to help them stick together better. I made smaller patties to keep them more manageable, as well. I served them on freshly-made rosemary foccacia bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I'm only giving this a 4 because the original recipe seemed a bit bland. However, this is a great starting point for delicious and convenient patties! I took others' suggestions of adding breadcrumbs and also seasoned these with adobo seasoning and cumin. Instead of brown rice I used quinoa. Will DEFINITELY make these again thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States