Black Bean Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I used green spinach tortillas and served at my St. Patty's Day Party; they were a big hit. I omitted the salsa, doubled the pepper jack and used a taco seasoning mix. These last well (for a few days) unsliced in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I loved this! You do need a very thin layer of black beans or it all squeezes out when you roll them. In a pinch, you can throw the rolls in the freezer for 15 to make cutting them easier later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
very easy and delicious. made it for a party and everyone loved itl made Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce as a dip and they went perfectly together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
These are so good!! A co-worker brought them to one of our office birthday parties; she told us how easy they are to make. I'll definitely make them for get-togethers or just for a quick snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Much easier to slice if you freeze for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
My toddlers (2 and 4yrs) love these, on the plain side. I make the bean spread very smooth, cream cheese, shredded mexican blend cheeses, tiny amount of onion or garlic salt, no salsa or spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I'd definitely make these again - they were a hit at our fiesta. I did spread a little chipotle sauce between the cream cheese and the beans (we used canned refried beans too) for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
We love these! I have never taken these to a party without them being devoured. I double the batch of filling since I use the burrito sized tortillas. It makes a lot. I also add a bit of garlic, and serve with mild and hot salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This is a snack that my husband, my 2 year old and I love. I did change a few things. I didn't put in the onion salt because I didn't have it and then I added some salsa with the black beans in the processor. It made it a better texture. I also added Cheddar Cheese right before I rolled it up. Loved them and will make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Used canned black refried beans instead of processing whole ones. Turned out great. Do not overfill the tortillas, that could turn into a mess! I served with Paul Newmans mango salsa. If you haven't tried the fruit salsa(s), it is a must. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY VANSANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States