Black Bean Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I loved this! You do need a very thin layer of black beans or it all squeezes out when you roll them. In a pinch, you can throw the rolls in the freezer for 15 to make cutting them easier later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I thought this recipe was ok, I don't think I ground the beans up enough, they were a little hard. I added garlic powder to the cheese mixture instead of the onion salt, and just realized I didn't add the sour cream to the mix, but that part of the wraps turned out great (the cream cheese, jack cheese and garlic powder), I will use that as a spread for crackers at a party I am having soon. I might try this recipe again and make sure I get the beans well ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Much easier to slice if you freeze for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
These are so good!! A co-worker brought them to one of our office birthday parties; she told us how easy they are to make. I'll definitely make them for get-togethers or just for a quick snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Good flavors. I added fresh garlic and some tomatilla salsa to the benas before I processed them. I tried both a mini food processor and a blender and also added a lot of salsa for liquid but still had a pretty lumpy mixture. Next time to make them even quicker I am going to use canned refried black beans and just mix the cheese mixture by hand. I also use Amy's Cilantro Sauce as a a dip and both were devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
very easy and delicious. made it for a party and everyone loved itl made Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce as a dip and they went perfectly together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Very good and very easy. I used plain Monterey Jack cheese, so it definitely could have used more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
I made this for a Mexican-theme party and it was a hit. As suggested, I used a can of refried black beans instead of blending black beans - very easy! For the cheese, I used a Mexican Blend. I also served it with Amy's Cilantro sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Ugh. Maybe I did something wrong, but I didn't like this at all. And it was a pain in the neck to make for little reward. We're going to try heating it to save it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
they where a little bland, and I would suggest not using so much cream cheese and more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States