Black Bean Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These are great! I spice them up a little with cumin and chile powder. They are my "go-to" food for potlucks. They also transport well. I have taken them as part of a picnic lunch when canoeing and I leave them rolled up like a cheesy bean burrito - yum! When you are serving them as pinwheels, it definitely helps to chill them first befor cutting. I leave them in the fridge overnight then slice them in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbean

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Very good, but a little bland. I added fresh cilantro to the mix, and it improved it quite a bit. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Amazing and easy! I added cumin and chili powder, and used garlic powder instead of onion salt. Also took the reccomendation of using refried black beans. Threw them in the freezer before cutting, and they were a snap! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loretak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Yummy! Whole family liked. I made fresco salsa to cover them with and I mixed all ingredients together instead of layering the beans with the cream cheese mixture. Definitely a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Kind of a bland flavor. I added a 1/4 tsp of taco seasoning, but it could have used much more. I served it with salsa. I will make it again, but with more taco seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Made this for my 18 month old picky eater. It was hard for him to chew through the tortilla so I put mixed the bean mix and cheese mix and spread on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
These were pretty quick and easy to make. I took other reviwers ideas and added a can of green chilis. I made enough for the following day to see if they held up well overnight and they did. You could make these ahead of time for a party. I think if I make again I will add diced red bell pepper to add texture and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
These are always a hit and I always get asked to make these for parties. I serve them with Amy's Cilantro Dip and they always disappear quite quickly! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made these for a bridal shower, and they were a hit. I didn't puree the beans, just kinda rolled them in. Also, I poured some salsa in the bottom of a dish, and stood the rolls up in that. It looked nice and they gobbled them up! They were a little bland, so next time I'll probably add some green chiles or hot sauce to them. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States