Black Bean Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
We really enjoyed this. Pasta and Mexican flavors together didn't throw us at all. Something about the ricotta and cilantro mingling was wonderful. I used all whole black beans cooked from dry because that is what I had on hand and I didn't have time to mash. Also used regular lasagna noodles without boiling first. I believe that soaked up most of the excess moisture and they were perfect texture after baking. Use a slotted spoon when transferring sauce to baking dish and that should take care of "sloppiness". We love spice but didn't feel this needed cumin, etc. Just added red pepper flakes and hot sauce at the table. Would give five stars once moisture issue gets resolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I love love love this recipe. I have made it more times than i can count and every time is excellent. I always leave out the corn and olives cause we don't like that in our family. I have I'd both fresh cilantro and dried cilantro, depending on what invading the house. One I left out the salsa and it was still excellent. The only slightly neg thing is that it doesn't harden until its cool, so we always have essentially lasagne soup on our plates when it's fresh from the over. It is so good frozen and re heated as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Excellent but I really kicked up the bean mixture. I used spices in the same ratio as I used in the amazing Flatlander Chili recipe on this site, just way less chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
The end result was absolutely delicious. The only thing I changed was to use corn tortillas instead of lasagna noodles (tasted like noodles anyway, so it really doesn't matter which one you use). To the tomato/bean mixture I added a batch of "Taco Seasoning I" from this website (quite possibly the best taco spice mix ever). It gave it a really flavorful Mexican taste that might of been lacking if I didn't add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
We loved this recipe. I did a few things differently though. I mashed the black beans with the refried beans before adding them to the sauce mixture. I also added a sprinkle of white sugar to the cheese mixture. I also laid sauce down first before putting the noodles in. The noodles soaked up all that yummy sauce. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie Alder
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe that has become one of our staples. I also add zucchini, yellow squash, and mushrooms to the black bean/corn mixture to give it more servings of veggies and it's delicious. It's great with green onion and black olives on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I did add extra spices (chili powder, oregano, cumin, cayenne pepper--skipped the cilantro just because I don't like it), like other reviewers suggested, and I used pepper jack cheese to get in a bit of extra kick there, plus threw some hot sauce into the bean mixture. With those changes it came out really excellent, with a good kick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
My husband and his friends love this lasagna. I even made it ahead and had him take it with him to work so his buddies could eat it in the barracks. It's delicious. I did jazz it up a bit with lots of garlic, cumin, red pepper flakes, and chili powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
My husband bought me refried black beans by accident, so I just used this recipe to use the black beans...both of us were pleasantly surprised! Not the flavor we were expecting but we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Good. A little bean heavy for my husband's tastes so I might double corn and pepper for next time, but definitely worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States