Black Bean Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
As suggested by another reviewer, I added a Goya Sazón packet to both the bean and the cheese layers. I also doubled the amount of onion and corn, and added sliced black olives and jalapenos to the bean mixture. I added 2 eggs to the cheese mixture to ensure that it was firm. It ended up being enough for 3 full layers of noodles (of which I used gluten-free no-boils...since they're made of rice it's a good alternative for those who find the "pasta" aspect of this recipe weird) in a 9 x 13 pan. Not runny, very easy, devoured by family and guests. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Neosho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
My whole family, several of whom are vegetarians, LOVES this dish. I find that I need more of the cheese mixture than the recipe calls for, especially if I double it. It is EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Soooo yummy. I had a dinner party last night for 12 of my girlfriends and everyone wanted the receipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This recipe made my husband want to be vegetarian! AWESOME... you don't miss the meat! I did add some cumin as a prior review suggested. And I used low fat sour cream and low fat cottage cheese... turned out WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I recently married a vegetarian and have been trying different meatless recipes that my carnivore children would also eat. Once they got over the idea of "black beans" it has quickly become a favorite. It is easy to prepare by someone, like me, who does not really like to cook and has limited time. My family likes to eat it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
My husband really liked this. I had a hard time reconciling the taste. Is it Italian or is it Mexican? I ate the leftovers today and it was good but it's missing some spice. When I tasted the sauce I thought it was bland so I threw in some basic spices before I even baked it. I think next time I'll add taco seasoning to the ricotta mixture. I added a chedder layer on top and every bite with that is really good. I think it's just a little too bland on its own. I was surprised to read that others had trouble with it being soupie. Mine set perfectly. I made sure my sauce was pretty thick before I assembled it though. Lasagna has gotten pretty old to me and this was a nice twist. Next time it gets more spices though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This recipe was great! I made it for my carnivorous husband. We had my inlaws over to try it. They all loved it. Everyone had seconds, and my inlaws have asked for the recipe. I used whole wheat noodles, reduced-sodium/no fat pasta sause, and 1% cottage cheese. I also couldn't find re-fried black beans, so I used regular re-fried beans. I didn't have any problems with excess moisture. The difference might be that after I assembled the lasanga, the meal time was delayed by 2 hours, so I stuck everything in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
this is really good and a nice compromise for my half veggie/half meat eating family. I used red enchilada sauce instead of half of the tomato sauce and it had a nice kick to it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This was great! I prepared it and froze to bake later, and it was awesome. Everyone but my VERY picky 10 year old gave great reviews. Will definitely make again, and will add it to my list of delicious meat-free main dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This lasagna was fantastic. My husband, a meat lover, loved this vegetarian meal. I substituted black eyed peas for refried beans because I had them on hand and used whole wheat lasagna noodles. Excellent-going into permanent rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States