Black Bean Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Filling and healthy. Up the spices though, I thought it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
A family favorite! Great for a pot-luck, IF your family doesn't inhale it first. My picky eaters can't get enough. We make this every week or so. IF you're lucky enough to have leftovers, they keep well for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
We found this to be an excellent Meatless Monday dish. Even the baby liked it. Applause all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was a very good recipe, though I am with those who said it was a little bland. I added cumin, oregano, basil, and fresh cilantro to the cheese mixture, and added a can off diced tomatoes "Italian style" (drained) to the black bean mixture. It was definitely not dry, but needed some more salt and pepper, maybe more garlic. Really good though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was really great. I used some modifications that other suggested. I used one can of black beans and one can of refried beans. I use 8oz of tomato sauce and 8 oz-ish of salsa. I used chedder and Montery Jack cheese. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was good. It was not saucy enough for my tastes, but everyone liked it. Next time I will add more sauce to each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Normally, I try to make things exactly as written the first time, but I couldn't on this one. I knew the lack of seasoning would be a problem, so I replaced the plain black beans with well-seasoned refried ones. Also, I added just a bit of sauce to the bottom of the pan before starting to layer, so the noodles wouldn't stick, and covered the lasagna for the first half of cooking so it wouldn't dry out -- both tips I've taken from other lasagna recipes, and ones I would definitely recommend. I added a can of chopped green chilis to the sauce and a few shakes of red chili flake to the ricotta, but those changes ended up being pretty negligible. I did need more cheese, but I think I also ended up with one more layer, so that could be why. The end result was tasty, but I have to give the recipe as written three stars, because of the lack of seasoning and questionable lasagna-building instructions. Still, I'm pretty sure I'll make this again and I'm looking forward to the leftovers, so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is a really good recipe. I did modify it based on my own taste and what I had in the frig. I didn't have green pepper so I used red. I also used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and I seasoned it with basil and garlic powder. I noticed from other reviews that people said it was dry I only have one can of tomato sauce so I used tomato soup which added a tanginess to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Oh my God, these are the best lasagnas I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Surprisingly good--and this is coming from someone who loves meat lasagna. :) I'll definitely make this again. I followed the recipe exactly and really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States