Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This is the best recipe I've found on this site!!! I am orginally Syrian, so we are always making traditional hummus and when I decided to make this, my family was really skeptical. Everything changed when they tasted it and my mom single-handedly ate almost the whole recipe!! (this tastes more flavorful if you double the amount of the spices)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I made this hummus with black beans at first and it turned out good. However, when I substituted black beans with garbanzo beans - it turned out even better! You will need to use more liquid with garbanzo beans, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
Very good hummus, but very different from the classic garbanzo bean variety. My brother and I took this on our cross-country trip and ate some every day for 5 days straight and didn't get tired of it! The key to getting that hummus taste out of the black bean is the tahini. If you don't use tahini, you may as well just have some refried beans from your local Mexican restaurant. This is also an easy recipe to vary with other ingredients. Just remember that if you're going to add different spices, use fresh ones! There is no substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Wonderful! Just as easy to make as standard hummus and probably even tastier. The liquid from canned beans gives me digestion difficulties so I rinsed the beans and added olive oil and water instead. I recommend a little oil to help pull the flavors together. Lovely with hot pita bread or cold vegetable sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
WOW!! This is great, and SO simple! For an extra kick, substitute 1 tablespoon of the lemon juice with lime juice. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
Very easy and healthy recipe. A nice way to enjoy black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I substituted peanut butter (yes, you read that right) for the tahini, because that's what I had in my cupboard, and it was so good my 5 children ate it all up in one afternoon. The texture was good, the flavor was excellent. The PB is not discernible, and for me, going to the effort of driving an hour to purchase tahini defeats the whole purpose of making such a delicious dish with most ingredients available at all times in my refrigerator and pantry. We toasted tortilla triangles and cut pitas into wedges and broiled them crips. DELISH. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
Loved it. Great change from traditional hummus. I added a little more cayenne (we like it hot). I will make this many, many more times. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is very good. Has a bit of a kick, probably due to the paprika and the cayenne. I am making pita bread to go with it, and it's not done, so I just tested it with a spoon. It will be wonderful with pita. It is a bit like a black bean dip, but a little different. I made my own tahini for this, and I can't taste it that much. All the better; I am not a big fan of tahini. I'm a little puzzled by the complaints that it isn't pretty. It's not beautiful, I agree, but if you garnish it correctly it looks fun and the purple color isn't bad. I've certainly made food that looks a lot less appetizing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This hummus is a little runnier than traditional hummus. I think next time i'll try it with more lemon juice and cayenne to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States