Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
We love making hummus without garbanzo beans! This is very tasty, and the ingredient amounts easily adjusted to your taste. We've made this several times already this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Seriously unbelievable. I used an olive tapenade in place of the garlic and olives because that's all I had and I can't stop eating it. Best hummus recipe, ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used dry black beans for less sodium. It takes longer to cook, but it was worth the extra effort. I also added a 14oz can of chickpeas (partially drained) and a 1/4 cup of cilantro. Love the cayenne in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe is super tasty. I added some fresh cilantro and used it for a veggie dip. It would be great with pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good...make sure to rinse off beans with water before adding...otherwise a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I didn't enjoy this recipe. It was way to salty and not enough cayenne for my tastes. You would be better of just adding your own mixture of ingredients and season to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney Whitlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Just made this tonight. I try to follow recipes line by line the first time I make them. This one was tasty! My fiance is a hummus junky and she absolutely loved it! We will be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I have made this on a couple of occasions and each time everyone raved and raved about how delicious it was! I put it out as an appetizer and it was gone before dinner. I make it using my rocket blender and it is super easy to make. Definitely a dish that has excellent results, especially compared to its difficulty level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This needed a LOT more tahini. I made my own tahini using black sesame seeds (had a big bag on hand) and it needed about 1/3c. Extra fresh lemon jce, cumin, freshly grd black pepper and a pinch of sugar did the trick. I loved it, once I added more seasoning and extra sesame paste. I can't imagine substituting mayo for it, but as another reviewer stated, peanut butter works just fine if you don't have tahini or sesame seed. Oh, and as for how it looks: it is kind of liver-colored. But if you season it to taste, sprinkle it with some fresh parsley and sesame seed (any color), serve it with chips or pita, it will be gone in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Wahoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great! Based on suggestions, I used 1 teaspoon peanut butter instead of the tahini. I used the juice of a whole lemon and 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Will be even better overnight after all the flavors blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States