Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious!! I didn't have olives but didn't feel that it was lacking at all. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I made some changes (out of necessity of what I had), but for my first time making hummus, this still turned out great & I expect the next batch to be even better! Changes: 1 can black beans, 1 of garbanzo. I didn't have tahini so I ground up some sesame seeds using a mortal/pestle and added a bit of olive oil to make about 1.5 tlbs "tahini paste". I roasted a garlic and used probably about 5-6 cloves. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I used ground red pepper. I also didn't have a food processor, so I had to mash by hand/electric mixer! It took a little longer and came out a little chunkier than ideal, but that's my own fault for not owning a food processor. :) This made about 3 cups or so of hummus. I put some in the fridge for now and some in a ziploc in the freezer for later. Next time I will make my life easier and go buy some tahini and if I don't have a food processor by then, I will probably cook the beans a bit to make them softer and easier to mash. Overall though - this is a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Great recipe. It's a nice change from the tradiditional garbonzo bean hummus. I made few changes: substituted lime juiice for the lemon, and didn't use the black bean juice, but added 2 tablespoons of EVOO to make it smooth. I also added 1 bulb of roasted galric,, and 1/4 cup of cilantro to the mixture before putting it in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HockeyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Vickers Gerbine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Yum-o...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great recipe although I did make some changes. It is staple in my ktchen now, we make it a couple of times a week. I substituted lime juice for the lemon, much better flavor and used water to reduce the thickness rather than the bean juice from the can. I also added extra garlic and cayenne pepper as that we like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplySophisticatedCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This hummus suprised me, it was really very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I hate chickpeas, so this was a wonderful alternative. I didn't have tahini so I just ground up sesame seeds and used that in it's place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Love Love Love this! Good spice and flavor just the way it is. The only thing I changed is that I didn't have Tahini and substituted it for a teaspoon of peanut butter and a 5-6 drops of sesame oil. However, I thought the taste was good prior to making this substitution and could have gone without. The peanut butter added more of the traditional hummus taste. I served this with whole wheat flour tortillas cut into triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Wow this was so good. I did add more garlic, cumin for my taste. Didn't have olives but topped with chopped red roasted peppers and fresh Cilantro. I might try putting some chopped jalapeno in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States