Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was a last minute addition to my menu because at the last minute I realized I had no chickpeas for roasted red pepper hummus. Sometimes when that happens you end up with a winner, and that's what this is! Only change was to double the cumin, and to not use the liquid from the can but rather add a bit of oil and a little more lemon juice. Nice twist on regular hummus! Thanks, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I've made this hummus countless times and it is a hit with everyone who eats it. I use two cans of black beans, a touch more lemon juice than called for, and then add garlic powder, tahini, cumin, paprika, and cayenne to taste--some days we want spicy, some days we want more cumin. It is extremely versatile. I serve it with sliced avocados, sliced peppers, carrots, blue tortilla chips, and/or pita chips. It is a great complement to both burgers and Mexican fare. I even had a bride ask to have it at her bachelorette party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! I am not a fan of black beans, but over vacation last week, I had some wonderful black bean hummus. Now that I'm home, I decided to make some. This recipe is just as good. I cannot wait to share it with my family! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Makes a fantastic black bean hummus. Far better than what I had previously bought in the store. I didn't measure out spices, but used more rather than less and threw in some red pepper flakes as well. Used 2 tbsp sesame oil and a 1 tbsp olive oil in place of tahini. For the lemon juice I squeezed a single lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I was rushed when I was trying to make this so I didnt want to open my jar of greek olives and chop them up for a garnish but man oh man this was good! My husband hates hummus and after talking to him like I do our children when I want them to just try a bite, he finally did and he took another and another and another...enough said, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I really liked this and so did my co-workers! I made a couple of changes. I used peanut butter instead of the tahini because it was what I had on hand. I only used 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, we don't like it that hot. To us it had just the right bite! Thanks for a great recipe and healthy too! No oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hope, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was pretty good, my friend who loves hummus is allergic to chickpeas, so I made this for her. She liked it, but said it wasn't the same. My husband really enjoyed it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious!! I didn't have olives but didn't feel that it was lacking at all. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I made some changes (out of necessity of what I had), but for my first time making hummus, this still turned out great & I expect the next batch to be even better! Changes: 1 can black beans, 1 of garbanzo. I didn't have tahini so I ground up some sesame seeds using a mortal/pestle and added a bit of olive oil to make about 1.5 tlbs "tahini paste". I roasted a garlic and used probably about 5-6 cloves. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I used ground red pepper. I also didn't have a food processor, so I had to mash by hand/electric mixer! It took a little longer and came out a little chunkier than ideal, but that's my own fault for not owning a food processor. :) This made about 3 cups or so of hummus. I put some in the fridge for now and some in a ziploc in the freezer for later. Next time I will make my life easier and go buy some tahini and if I don't have a food processor by then, I will probably cook the beans a bit to make them softer and easier to mash. Overall though - this is a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States