Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was a last minute addition to my menu because at the last minute I realized I had no chickpeas for roasted red pepper hummus. Sometimes when that happens you end up with a winner, and that's what this is! Only change was to double the cumin, and to not use the liquid from the can but rather add a bit of oil and a little more lemon juice. Nice twist on regular hummus! Thanks, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I've made this hummus countless times and it is a hit with everyone who eats it. I use two cans of black beans, a touch more lemon juice than called for, and then add garlic powder, tahini, cumin, paprika, and cayenne to taste--some days we want spicy, some days we want more cumin. It is extremely versatile. I serve it with sliced avocados, sliced peppers, carrots, blue tortilla chips, and/or pita chips. It is a great complement to both burgers and Mexican fare. I even had a bride ask to have it at her bachelorette party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! I am not a fan of black beans, but over vacation last week, I had some wonderful black bean hummus. Now that I'm home, I decided to make some. This recipe is just as good. I cannot wait to share it with my family! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Makes a fantastic black bean hummus. Far better than what I had previously bought in the store. I didn't measure out spices, but used more rather than less and threw in some red pepper flakes as well. Used 2 tbsp sesame oil and a 1 tbsp olive oil in place of tahini. For the lemon juice I squeezed a single lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I was rushed when I was trying to make this so I didnt want to open my jar of greek olives and chop them up for a garnish but man oh man this was good! My husband hates hummus and after talking to him like I do our children when I want them to just try a bite, he finally did and he took another and another and another...enough said, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I really liked this and so did my co-workers! I made a couple of changes. I used peanut butter instead of the tahini because it was what I had on hand. I only used 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, we don't like it that hot. To us it had just the right bite! Thanks for a great recipe and healthy too! No oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hope, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was pretty good, my friend who loves hummus is allergic to chickpeas, so I made this for her. She liked it, but said it wasn't the same. My husband really enjoyed it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious!! I didn't have olives but didn't feel that it was lacking at all. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I made some changes (out of necessity of what I had), but for my first time making hummus, this still turned out great & I expect the next batch to be even better! Changes: 1 can black beans, 1 of garbanzo. I didn't have tahini so I ground up some sesame seeds using a mortal/pestle and added a bit of olive oil to make about 1.5 tlbs "tahini paste". I roasted a garlic and used probably about 5-6 cloves. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I used ground red pepper. I also didn't have a food processor, so I had to mash by hand/electric mixer! It took a little longer and came out a little chunkier than ideal, but that's my own fault for not owning a food processor. :) This made about 3 cups or so of hummus. I put some in the fridge for now and some in a ziploc in the freezer for later. Next time I will make my life easier and go buy some tahini and if I don't have a food processor by then, I will probably cook the beans a bit to make them softer and easier to mash. Overall though - this is a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States