Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Just made this tonight. I try to follow recipes line by line the first time I make them. This one was tasty! My fiance is a hummus junky and she absolutely loved it! We will be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I have made this on a couple of occasions and each time everyone raved and raved about how delicious it was! I put it out as an appetizer and it was gone before dinner. I make it using my rocket blender and it is super easy to make. Definitely a dish that has excellent results, especially compared to its difficulty level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This needed a LOT more tahini. I made my own tahini using black sesame seeds (had a big bag on hand) and it needed about 1/3c. Extra fresh lemon jce, cumin, freshly grd black pepper and a pinch of sugar did the trick. I loved it, once I added more seasoning and extra sesame paste. I can't imagine substituting mayo for it, but as another reviewer stated, peanut butter works just fine if you don't have tahini or sesame seed. Oh, and as for how it looks: it is kind of liver-colored. But if you season it to taste, sprinkle it with some fresh parsley and sesame seed (any color), serve it with chips or pita, it will be gone in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Wahoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great! Based on suggestions, I used 1 teaspoon peanut butter instead of the tahini. I used the juice of a whole lemon and 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Will be even better overnight after all the flavors blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Make this recipe all of the time, because I love black beans (and cumin). I now make some changes. As with many reviewers, I like lime juice better than lemon. But I usually start by chopping up cilantro, and then add a jalapeno or red pepper, and maybe a couple of sundried tomatoes. A couple of splashes of hot sauce always adds some tang. Oh, and I substitute seasoned salt for salt. As with regular hummus, it's fun to play around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Thanks so much for this recipe! We've made it 3 times in the past two weeks. The only change was to drain and rinse the black beans and use chicken broth instead. I think the reviews said to use a 1/4 cup of broth but I messed up and only used 2 T and it was perfect so that is how we make it now. Very economical and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Simple recipe, awesome results! Tastes amazing, and it's much cheaper than store-bought (more authentic taste, too). Instead of using canned beans, I boiled some on my own and used water and a little olive oil, as another reviewer suggested. Now I can have (black bean) hummus any time I want, and for a fraction of the price I'd find it anywhere else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
One of the best things I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Excellent. I added 1 more clove of garlic and didn't have any Greek olives. I served it with Kangaroo Pita Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Made this last night. Delicious!!! I roasted the garlic and added 3-4 cloves instead of just 1. No Cayenne pepper so just used regular black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States