Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Simple recipe, awesome results! Tastes amazing, and it's much cheaper than store-bought (more authentic taste, too). Instead of using canned beans, I boiled some on my own and used water and a little olive oil, as another reviewer suggested. Now I can have (black bean) hummus any time I want, and for a fraction of the price I'd find it anywhere else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
One of the best things I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Excellent. I added 1 more clove of garlic and didn't have any Greek olives. I served it with Kangaroo Pita Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Made this last night. Delicious!!! I roasted the garlic and added 3-4 cloves instead of just 1. No Cayenne pepper so just used regular black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! I've used it soooo many times and have had nothing but rave reviews from anyone that tries it! In addition to what's listed, I also add about 1/2 tablespoon chopped jalapeno, 1/4 cup of low-sodium chicken broth (instead of the reserved black bean liquid) and rinse the beans before adding to the blender. Enjoy this one - your guests will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
excellent recipe! I eat a lot of hummus and normally I make the traditional garbanzo bean kind. I wanted to try this one out because my little brother is allergic to garbanzo beans and I wanted him to be able to enjoy the wraps I was making for lunch. The only change I made to the recipe was to leave out the liquid from the canned beans (never liked it) and use about 1/2 tbsp. of olive oil instead. I love the flavor of this hummus and my brother has been dipping pita bread into it all day :) Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Amazing! Everyone loves it. I've been making it every week for over a year! Spread it on a plate and garnish with basil and feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very good hummus recipe! It really ZINGS!! I doubled the garlic, but that is the only change I made. Delicious! My husband was a little dubious of "hippy food", but he was converted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiegirl1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is so good! We had black bean hummus at a tapas bar while on vacation and fell in love with it. We were hoping to make something equally wonderful at home and this recipe gave us just what we were looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is a great black bean hummus. Very flavorful and easy to whip up in the food processor. I thinkg this also would make a good filling for quesadillas (cooked with pepper jack or cheddar) or as the base for a tex-mex layer dip (with sour cream, guacamole, chopped tomatoes, lettuce, cheese, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueHydrangea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States