Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Huge hit at the bbq I just made this for! I only had kalamata olives, so I cut it down to 5, which was perfect. All else - perfect. I think I may have added a little extra cumin because I really like the flavor of it. I made homemade pita bread to dip in this, and cut it up into small bite-size pieces - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Amazing! We leave out the olives, and never need to use any of the reserved liquid. I make this a couple times a month! I never get too much though, because my husband eats it so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was great! I doubled the spices and garlic, and I cooked the beans for 20 mins. the 2nd time I made it. Definitely better cooked b/c it eliminated the hard pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deannamarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Fantastic and super easy. I do recommend doubling the recipe if you are taking it to a party. I took the recommendation of another reviewer to toss in some lime juice as well. This will definitely be my "go to" appetizer of choice for a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I eat this almost every day, but I do make the following changes: 3 cloves fresh garlic. 3 TBSP lemon juice. 1 tsp cumin (maybe a dash more). Reduce black bean liquid to 1 TBSP. Reduce tahini to 1 TBSP. HOT PEPPER FLAKES, and a lot of them! I do about a teaspoon! Put garlic cloves in the food processor (I have a Ninja) and mince them first. Add everything else in and blend to desired consistency. I eat this primarily with bagel chips. I also eat too much of this to bother with the olives and the paprika. I have noticed good improvement in my cholesterol levels and I attribute it to this hummus! It's my "go-to snack."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Love the black bean hummus! Great even without some of the ingredients listed on here. What I did: 1 Can black beans, 2 cloves garlic, cumin & paprkika (about a teaspoon each), salt and pepper to taste, and enough olive oil that it would blend smooth. Tahini is too expensive, so i omitted, and i forgot about the lemon and remembered after I already put it away-- but it was still great. Instead of the olives (i didn't have greek) I used about 2 teaspoons of olive juice from a jar of green olives I had in the fridge. This is going to be my new go-to snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very yummy. I used half black bean and half chick peas and lime juice. I omitted the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I was really disappointed after reading all the rave reviews. I thought it was way too salty! Next time I will use soaked black beans as opposed to the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I hate black beans. Loathe them. So, to say I loved this recipe means something. This is absolutely awesome with a little added cayenne and a little added lemon....I also finely, finely chopped the olives and sprinkled them on top before serving. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I didn't have tahini so I ground roasted sesame seeds in the magic bullet. Then added the rest of the ingredients...YUM! I even skipped the cayenne and it is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLIIZZZ07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States