Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Fantastic and super easy. I do recommend doubling the recipe if you are taking it to a party. I took the recommendation of another reviewer to toss in some lime juice as well. This will definitely be my "go to" appetizer of choice for a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I eat this almost every day, but I do make the following changes: 3 cloves fresh garlic. 3 TBSP lemon juice. 1 tsp cumin (maybe a dash more). Reduce black bean liquid to 1 TBSP. Reduce tahini to 1 TBSP. HOT PEPPER FLAKES, and a lot of them! I do about a teaspoon! Put garlic cloves in the food processor (I have a Ninja) and mince them first. Add everything else in and blend to desired consistency. I eat this primarily with bagel chips. I also eat too much of this to bother with the olives and the paprika. I have noticed good improvement in my cholesterol levels and I attribute it to this hummus! It's my "go-to snack."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Love the black bean hummus! Great even without some of the ingredients listed on here. What I did: 1 Can black beans, 2 cloves garlic, cumin & paprkika (about a teaspoon each), salt and pepper to taste, and enough olive oil that it would blend smooth. Tahini is too expensive, so i omitted, and i forgot about the lemon and remembered after I already put it away-- but it was still great. Instead of the olives (i didn't have greek) I used about 2 teaspoons of olive juice from a jar of green olives I had in the fridge. This is going to be my new go-to snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very yummy. I used half black bean and half chick peas and lime juice. I omitted the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I was really disappointed after reading all the rave reviews. I thought it was way too salty! Next time I will use soaked black beans as opposed to the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I hate black beans. Loathe them. So, to say I loved this recipe means something. This is absolutely awesome with a little added cayenne and a little added lemon....I also finely, finely chopped the olives and sprinkled them on top before serving. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I didn't have tahini so I ground roasted sesame seeds in the magic bullet. Then added the rest of the ingredients...YUM! I even skipped the cayenne and it is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLIIZZZ07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Really good!! Will definitely be keeping a bowl of this in the fridge regularly from now on... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Amazing taste! This is my new favorite dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I love this. I followed the recipe exactly. I don't like garbonzo beans so this is a wonderful substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States