Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Phenomenal recipe! I didn't have greek olives on hand so I added about a half cup of garbanzo beans and a tbs of olive oil as a substitute directly in the food processor and it came out great. Definitely one I'll make again, it has a really good balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I enjoyed this easy to make and delicious hummus. I up'd the seasonings a bit and used olive oil instead of the reserved liquid from the beans. I like to rinse canned beans well, just my preference. It got even better after it sat and chilled for a few hours. I'll make this again without a doubt. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
can't go wrong w/hummus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is great, exactly what I was looking for. I used 2 cups of black beans I cooked myself instead of canned. I would highly recommend NOT adding the salt if you are using canned beans. The salt from the olives is plenty. We will use this as a dip, sandwich spread and a filling for enchiladas--this is so versatile. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is definitely the best hummus recipes I've ever tried. I usually use dried beans that I cook first (I don't eat meat, so I make giant batches of beans on the weekend and use it throughout the week). If you are using dried beans, then 1 can = 1.5 cups of beans. Even when I do used canned beans, I drain and rinse them to lower the sodium content. Then, I add 1/4 cup of water to thin it a bit. I also half the salt and it still tastes great. This hummus goes really well with Crunchmaster 5-seed crackers that you can buy from Costco. I make this weekly (doubled) and bring portions to school (I'm a teacher) as an afternoon snack. Full of protein and fiber, great for vegetarians! My husband also is in love with this because of the spiciness, which you can easily adjust to suit your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
delicious and really easy! ate it with baby carrots and sliced cucmber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ben Wheeler, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I always love a new spin on hummus! This was great! I used soaked/cooked raw beans rather than canned because that's what I have around. Instead of the reserved fluid I used about 1Tbs water and 1 Tbs olive oil. I didn't read the directions well and blended the olives into the hummus- really great! It was just a tad spicy for my taste, but I don't care for spice at all. Will be making again with less cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is absolutely fabulous hummus!!!! Be warned: once you start eating , its hard to stop! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennJenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Oh WOW - this is great!!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States