Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville Centre, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
As good as any store bought and healthier (no added oil). Incredibly easy. I've made it 3 times in 2 weeks for various people and they've all loved it. Don't have cayenne pepper so I used 1/4 tsp red pepper + 1/4 tsp chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
After the can-can sale at our grocery store last year, I had an abundance of black beans and corn, as my husband went shopping with my then-vegetarian daughter. Well, months later she is not a vegetarian and though we've used a lot of corn in chowder, we have an abundance of black beans left. I have GOT to use all these beans. I did a black bean search without corn, and this came up ... and I am SO glad it did! We love hummus in our house, and my husband is a big snacker, so this was perfect. It should keep him happy for a while, and is pretty inexpensive to make - which I LOVE. I have visions of needing to pick up more tahini, though. THANKS for this recipe ... went over big right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Fantastic! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Phenomenal recipe! I didn't have greek olives on hand so I added about a half cup of garbanzo beans and a tbs of olive oil as a substitute directly in the food processor and it came out great. Definitely one I'll make again, it has a really good balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I enjoyed this easy to make and delicious hummus. I up'd the seasonings a bit and used olive oil instead of the reserved liquid from the beans. I like to rinse canned beans well, just my preference. It got even better after it sat and chilled for a few hours. I'll make this again without a doubt. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
can't go wrong w/hummus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is great, exactly what I was looking for. I used 2 cups of black beans I cooked myself instead of canned. I would highly recommend NOT adding the salt if you are using canned beans. The salt from the olives is plenty. We will use this as a dip, sandwich spread and a filling for enchiladas--this is so versatile. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is definitely the best hummus recipes I've ever tried. I usually use dried beans that I cook first (I don't eat meat, so I make giant batches of beans on the weekend and use it throughout the week). If you are using dried beans, then 1 can = 1.5 cups of beans. Even when I do used canned beans, I drain and rinse them to lower the sodium content. Then, I add 1/4 cup of water to thin it a bit. I also half the salt and it still tastes great. This hummus goes really well with Crunchmaster 5-seed crackers that you can buy from Costco. I make this weekly (doubled) and bring portions to school (I'm a teacher) as an afternoon snack. Full of protein and fiber, great for vegetarians! My husband also is in love with this because of the spiciness, which you can easily adjust to suit your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States