Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Does not replace regular hummus, but adds another great and healthy addition to my menus... I did not bother with the garnishes. Hubby says this is the first hummus he actually LIKED... (well, he's a little old fashioned in his food selections).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Ok, so first of all I used 3 cloves of garlic; I like garlic! I agree with the liquid, but only used 1 & 1/2 TBSP, and the same amount of olive oil, as another reviewer suggested. Also, as suggested, I rinsed the beans. I used the juice of 1 small lime, so about 1 1/2 TBSP or so. I liked the kick of cayenne; curious to see how it tastes tomorrow; in my experience, these types of things (lots of fresh, bold ingredients) need to sit together over time to truly come alive. :) Update: my hummus-obsessed work mates loved this! I did not do the olives; the flavor did mellow, and the cayenne wasn't too bold, except for one friend who is not fond of spice anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This really surprised me. If I can get past the really peculiar color of this dip, then it is actually pretty descent. I am not a big fan of hummus. I have tried countless recipes, even on this site. I have not really liked any of them. This one seems to have the perfect balance of flavors. I used Goya low-sodium beans. It was a good choice, because unlike other cans today they seem to really pack the beans to the top. Even though I tend to tweak recipes, I decided to follow this one exactly. Only change I made was cutting the amount of cayenne in half. It blended quickly in my Vitamix on speed 10, 30-40 seconds. It was very creamy, as hummus should be. When done, I even decorated with some olives as suggested. After tasting, I did drizzle a little olive oil on top, but just because I am used to seeing that on other hummus recipes. I had sweet potato and chive Mediterranean crackers, so that is what I used for dipping. Made for a healthy snack this evening. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Veggiemom
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious. It never occurred to me to use any bean other than chickpeas to make humus. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
A keeper. Especially like that no oil is added. Will try with other beans as well. Great way to enjoy healthy food. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great hummus; everybody liked it. I ground a few kalamata olives right in, and I think it made the hummus less bland and more distinct from standard chickpea hummuis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Better then hummus.. this is a really great change from hummus. It is a smokey flavour. Perfect.. love it! Really amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Yum! Used garlic powder and it worked fine. We didn't use the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I didn't have all of the ingredients but...THIS IS AMAZING! I wanted black bean hummus spur of the moment but didn't have all of the ingredients. I used garlic powder instead of a clove, doubled the cayenne pepper (because apparently I like to clear out my sinuses while I eat) and did not have the olives. This recipe is SO EASY and SO TASTY! I can't wait to try it with fresh garlic and olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Quick to make, loved the flavors of the black beans. Great as a sandwich spread. Organic black beans makes it much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States