Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Made this recipe in honor of International Hummus Day! We had cooked black beans on hand so we went the non-traditional black bean recipe. The only thing we changed was substituting 3 tablespoons of olive oil in place of the reserved liquid (we didn't keep the reserved liquid) and it tasted fantastic. 2 of us ate the entire bowl in one sitting. We have roots in Israel and eat alot of hummus and this is the best recipe we have found! And its soooo easy. Made it in the blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Kamusikiri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I learned that black beans may be healthier than garbanzos (more cancer-fighting phytonutrients), so I looked into making hummus with black beans. This recipe is even better than regular hummus! Adding the olives is genius! I use kalamata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
FABULOUS FIVE STAR recipe! My family LOVED it. I used smoked cumin rather than regular cumin and increased the cayenne by 1/4 teaspoon. I also used Hungarian paprika for a bolder taste. I will be making this super easy recipe again and saved it as one of my favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4Ps

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Double the cumin, salt, and cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Delicious!!! I made three hummus recipes this week and this one, by far, is my favorite!!! I doubled it (because I obviously really like hummus) and am really glad I did! I substituted peanut butter for tahini (as suggested by another reviewer), and used water instead of reserved liquid, otherwise I followed the directions exactly. I expected a Mexican- flavor, but it wasn't that ... just mildly spicy, rich flavor. VERY VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coppol63
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Love this! I used a half can of black beans and a half can of chick peas. Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Love it. Added extra garlic because that's how I roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was quick, easy and delicious. I had to omit the olives this time and it is still very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Thank you for this recipe! I tweeked it a little using lime instead of lemon, upped the cayenne to 1/2 tsp., 5 cloves of garlic and threw the olives right in the food processor. I do not like tahini, so I used olive oil instead. Served with pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Levesque

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States