Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great! Based on suggestions, I used 1 teaspoon peanut butter instead of the tahini. I used the juice of a whole lemon and 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Will be even better overnight after all the flavors blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Make this recipe all of the time, because I love black beans (and cumin). I now make some changes. As with many reviewers, I like lime juice better than lemon. But I usually start by chopping up cilantro, and then add a jalapeno or red pepper, and maybe a couple of sundried tomatoes. A couple of splashes of hot sauce always adds some tang. Oh, and I substitute seasoned salt for salt. As with regular hummus, it's fun to play around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Thanks so much for this recipe! We've made it 3 times in the past two weeks. The only change was to drain and rinse the black beans and use chicken broth instead. I think the reviews said to use a 1/4 cup of broth but I messed up and only used 2 T and it was perfect so that is how we make it now. Very economical and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Simple recipe, awesome results! Tastes amazing, and it's much cheaper than store-bought (more authentic taste, too). Instead of using canned beans, I boiled some on my own and used water and a little olive oil, as another reviewer suggested. Now I can have (black bean) hummus any time I want, and for a fraction of the price I'd find it anywhere else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
One of the best things I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Excellent. I added 1 more clove of garlic and didn't have any Greek olives. I served it with Kangaroo Pita Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Made this last night. Delicious!!! I roasted the garlic and added 3-4 cloves instead of just 1. No Cayenne pepper so just used regular black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! I've used it soooo many times and have had nothing but rave reviews from anyone that tries it! In addition to what's listed, I also add about 1/2 tablespoon chopped jalapeno, 1/4 cup of low-sodium chicken broth (instead of the reserved black bean liquid) and rinse the beans before adding to the blender. Enjoy this one - your guests will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
excellent recipe! I eat a lot of hummus and normally I make the traditional garbanzo bean kind. I wanted to try this one out because my little brother is allergic to garbanzo beans and I wanted him to be able to enjoy the wraps I was making for lunch. The only change I made to the recipe was to leave out the liquid from the canned beans (never liked it) and use about 1/2 tbsp. of olive oil instead. I love the flavor of this hummus and my brother has been dipping pita bread into it all day :) Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Amazing! Everyone loves it. I've been making it every week for over a year! Spread it on a plate and garnish with basil and feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States