Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is definitely the best hummus recipes I've ever tried. I usually use dried beans that I cook first (I don't eat meat, so I make giant batches of beans on the weekend and use it throughout the week). If you are using dried beans, then 1 can = 1.5 cups of beans. Even when I do used canned beans, I drain and rinse them to lower the sodium content. Then, I add 1/4 cup of water to thin it a bit. I also half the salt and it still tastes great. This hummus goes really well with Crunchmaster 5-seed crackers that you can buy from Costco. I make this weekly (doubled) and bring portions to school (I'm a teacher) as an afternoon snack. Full of protein and fiber, great for vegetarians! My husband also is in love with this because of the spiciness, which you can easily adjust to suit your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
delicious and really easy! ate it with baby carrots and sliced cucmber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ben Wheeler, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I always love a new spin on hummus! This was great! I used soaked/cooked raw beans rather than canned because that's what I have around. Instead of the reserved fluid I used about 1Tbs water and 1 Tbs olive oil. I didn't read the directions well and blended the olives into the hummus- really great! It was just a tad spicy for my taste, but I don't care for spice at all. Will be making again with less cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is absolutely fabulous hummus!!!! Be warned: once you start eating , its hard to stop! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennJenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Oh WOW - this is great!!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Huge hit at the bbq I just made this for! I only had kalamata olives, so I cut it down to 5, which was perfect. All else - perfect. I think I may have added a little extra cumin because I really like the flavor of it. I made homemade pita bread to dip in this, and cut it up into small bite-size pieces - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Amazing! We leave out the olives, and never need to use any of the reserved liquid. I make this a couple times a month! I never get too much though, because my husband eats it so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was great! I doubled the spices and garlic, and I cooked the beans for 20 mins. the 2nd time I made it. Definitely better cooked b/c it eliminated the hard pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deannamarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Fantastic and super easy. I do recommend doubling the recipe if you are taking it to a party. I took the recommendation of another reviewer to toss in some lime juice as well. This will definitely be my "go to" appetizer of choice for a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I eat this almost every day, but I do make the following changes: 3 cloves fresh garlic. 3 TBSP lemon juice. 1 tsp cumin (maybe a dash more). Reduce black bean liquid to 1 TBSP. Reduce tahini to 1 TBSP. HOT PEPPER FLAKES, and a lot of them! I do about a teaspoon! Put garlic cloves in the food processor (I have a Ninja) and mince them first. Add everything else in and blend to desired consistency. I eat this primarily with bagel chips. I also eat too much of this to bother with the olives and the paprika. I have noticed good improvement in my cholesterol levels and I attribute it to this hummus! It's my "go-to snack."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States