Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Wonderful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Does not replace regular hummus, but adds another great and healthy addition to my menus... I did not bother with the garnishes. Hubby says this is the first hummus he actually LIKED... (well, he's a little old fashioned in his food selections).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Ok, so first of all I used 3 cloves of garlic; I like garlic! I agree with the liquid, but only used 1 & 1/2 TBSP, and the same amount of olive oil, as another reviewer suggested. Also, as suggested, I rinsed the beans. I used the juice of 1 small lime, so about 1 1/2 TBSP or so. I liked the kick of cayenne; curious to see how it tastes tomorrow; in my experience, these types of things (lots of fresh, bold ingredients) need to sit together over time to truly come alive. :) Update: my hummus-obsessed work mates loved this! I did not do the olives; the flavor did mellow, and the cayenne wasn't too bold, except for one friend who is not fond of spice anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This really surprised me. If I can get past the really peculiar color of this dip, then it is actually pretty descent. I am not a big fan of hummus. I have tried countless recipes, even on this site. I have not really liked any of them. This one seems to have the perfect balance of flavors. I used Goya low-sodium beans. It was a good choice, because unlike other cans today they seem to really pack the beans to the top. Even though I tend to tweak recipes, I decided to follow this one exactly. Only change I made was cutting the amount of cayenne in half. It blended quickly in my Vitamix on speed 10, 30-40 seconds. It was very creamy, as hummus should be. When done, I even decorated with some olives as suggested. After tasting, I did drizzle a little olive oil on top, but just because I am used to seeing that on other hummus recipes. I had sweet potato and chive Mediterranean crackers, so that is what I used for dipping. Made for a healthy snack this evening. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Veggiemom
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious. It never occurred to me to use any bean other than chickpeas to make humus. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
A keeper. Especially like that no oil is added. Will try with other beans as well. Great way to enjoy healthy food. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great hummus; everybody liked it. I ground a few kalamata olives right in, and I think it made the hummus less bland and more distinct from standard chickpea hummuis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Better then hummus.. this is a really great change from hummus. It is a smokey flavour. Perfect.. love it! Really amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Yum! Used garlic powder and it worked fine. We didn't use the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I didn't have all of the ingredients but...THIS IS AMAZING! I wanted black bean hummus spur of the moment but didn't have all of the ingredients. I used garlic powder instead of a clove, doubled the cayenne pepper (because apparently I like to clear out my sinuses while I eat) and did not have the olives. This recipe is SO EASY and SO TASTY! I can't wait to try it with fresh garlic and olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States