Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is delicious with tortilla chips. I subbed chili powder for the cayenne pepper and garnished with sliced green onions. I'll definitely make this for football Sundays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Oh my beans....black bean hummus.. This is truly the best and my first time making it ever and it is Great! Can't wait for my next function to put it on the table with pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Wow! Perfect as listed and even better than chickpea hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I followed the directions except for the olives. The texture was very loose and didn't thicken. The taste was just so-so. I thought it was just me, but a friend of mine who is one of my "test dummies" for food, also said that it didn't taste bad, but it lacked something and the texture was way off. Thanks for the recipe. I at first gave this recipe 3 stars but ended up giving it four stars because of ease of preparation and easily found ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This turned out really good! I didn't have the Greek olives to garnish it with, to that might have helped. People at the party thought it was pudding (even though it was surrounded by pita chips). I also think it was just a little too runny so when I make it again I'll only use half the liquid. I also think I'd like to try doubling it and adding a can of chickpeas instead of another can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is very easy to make and has excellent flavor. I definitely think it is better the day after it is made and the flavors have time to meld. If you like a bite, be generous with the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is amazing! I made it this past weekend and my whole family loved it. It was a bit salty after adding the reserved liquid, so I omitted the additional salt. I finished the hummus by mixing in about 2 tsp olive oil for taste and texture after spooning the hummus into a serving dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was a last minute addition to my menu because at the last minute I realized I had no chickpeas for roasted red pepper hummus. Sometimes when that happens you end up with a winner, and that's what this is! Only change was to double the cumin, and to not use the liquid from the can but rather add a bit of oil and a little more lemon juice. Nice twist on regular hummus! Thanks, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I've made this hummus countless times and it is a hit with everyone who eats it. I use two cans of black beans, a touch more lemon juice than called for, and then add garlic powder, tahini, cumin, paprika, and cayenne to taste--some days we want spicy, some days we want more cumin. It is extremely versatile. I serve it with sliced avocados, sliced peppers, carrots, blue tortilla chips, and/or pita chips. It is a great complement to both burgers and Mexican fare. I even had a bride ask to have it at her bachelorette party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! I am not a fan of black beans, but over vacation last week, I had some wonderful black bean hummus. Now that I'm home, I decided to make some. This recipe is just as good. I cannot wait to share it with my family! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States