Black Bean Hummus with Tahini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe said. This tasted really good, but it is a bit runny. Perhaps it would be thicker if we didn't add the yogurt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great taste! I used 2 cups of black beans that I had cooked from the dry beans. My whole family liked this! Next time, I will cut the salt to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Fantastic little snack! I just realized I used the last of the Greek Yogurt this am, so I subbed cottage cheese. I used less tahini (I'm still new to it & getting used to it). Just a few shakes of sea salt. Really fresh tasting with the lemon. I really like it, I'd like a little kick so I'm going to add in a bit of Cayenne. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was much better than I expected. I followed the recipe with no yogurt, and after a quick taste test added more lemon juice and salt. I also added a dash of cumin and chipotle pepper flavor. I used the amount of olive oil to get the texture I wanted which was pretty creamy. I served it with tortilla chips, but pita would work great as well as veggies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
this was a big at my gathering. Has more of a "mexican flavor" rather than Greek because of the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
You don't need the yogurt or tahini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I substituted cottage cheese for the yogourt, since I didn't have plain yogourt at home. I think this may have been a mistake, since the hummus turned out very thick and pasty - my blender had a very difficult time with it and I ended up mashing a lot by hand. Overall, not a great hummus, but it was a good way to use up some extra black beans I had cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
WAY too salty. Hard to get a feel for the actual taste because the salt overpowered everything. I may give it one more try without any salt added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is fantastic! My new favorite recipe on allrecipes.com. My husband even liked it and he's not a bean fan. I was surprised by the salt issue that some reviewers had but then I realized that I only used it with veggies - not salty chips. I can see reducing the amount of tahini. I may experiment with herbs or salsa or olives. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Yummy! If you are vegan, you can easily convert: (1) use the same amt of soft tofu (2) skip it and use another Tbsp of oil (3) use coconut milk yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States