Black Bean Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
YUMM!!! I loved this recipe, never before thought to melt the cheese between tortillas first (versus using just tortillas). Love it and love the chipotle chiles, they add extra kick and smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos instead of using fresh, a can of diced green chiles and yellow onion. I ended up sautéing ½ a yellow onion and the garlic, and then added the tomatoes, a can of diced green chiles, broth and spices until slightly reduced and thickened. I then added the black beans until warmed through. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was excellent! My fiancé has been begging me to make huevos rancheros for him, and this came out just like he hoped it would! I did use store-bought salsa, though, and scrambled my eggs with cumin and cilantro instead of frying them, which gave the dish some extra flavor. Used chili powder (maybe 1 T?) in the beans instead of the chilies (it was all we had), and they were great. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A spicy, hearty way to start the day! Great for the weekends when you have more time to spend on breakfast, although this would be great for dinner too. It's very filling - if you have this for a lazy Sunday breakfast you won't be hungry again until dinner! Plus, you will almost need a nap after breakfast. ;-) I made two changes. 1) I poached the egg to make it a little healthier. 2) I mashed up the bean mix a little bit. My beans were too liquidy, but mashing them fixed the problem. My measurements may have been a little off, because I adjusted the serving size to '1'. I think the egg/bean/salsa layers would be good on on top of hashbrowns too. I might try that next time if I didn't have tortillas on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Quick, easy, and awesome. I never imagined that egg + black beans would taste so good! I used my own canned salsa instead of making the pico de gallo. I've never cooked with chipotles before (though I've eaten dishes with that flavor in restaurants so I knew I liked it) so one canned, finely chopped, came to a bit over a teaspoon. The rest I laid out on waxed paper to freeze (and store later), and I froze the rest of the adobo sauce in a small container. Actually, in retrospect, I might freeze the sauce in ice cube trays, as it seems like a little bit would add nice complexity to sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiny Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
My husband is from Central America and he loved these. He says it's one of his favorite meals I make. I haven't had the time to try it, but the only thing I can imagine making it better is fresh black beans. Not worth the extra work to me, but my husband would prefer it so if you're making these for someone of latin descent, you might want to make theblack beans yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Aparicio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Great recipe! It is a little time consuming. I made the salsa and beans at the same time, and then I assemble and cook the eggs as needed. This is my lunch this week! It is so good! New favorite, I think. I had it for lunch and dinner today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
So disappointed! This took a long time to make and was not very good. There needs to be a LOT more cheese than just a half a cup. I didn't understand the point of adding chicken broth to the beans. It made them watery and I ended up straining them again. The salsa was good. This wasn't terrible, but just didn't feel like a cohesive dish. My boyfriend suggests maybe sandwiching the egg between the tortillas? I don't know, I won't be trying this again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great recipe. Cooked our eggs sunny side up and the runny yolk added just the right flavor and moisture to the dish. IMO the fresh cilantro adds just the right touch. A simple keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Delicious!! I make this quite often, I use whatever kind of cheese I have on hand. Last time I made it with mashed pinto beans with equally good results as the black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States