Black Bean Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Great recipe. Having lived in Mexico for a number of years, this took me back to some of the great breakfasts I had in the Yucatan Peninsula. The most time consuming part of this recipe is making the pico de gallo -- but other than that it is fairly straightforward and simple. I chose to leave out the garlic and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Absolutely awesome. The chipoltle chiles in the beans added a nice/unique flavor. I made sure to mash a few of the beans while it was simmering to thicken the texture. Hands down the best huevos rancheros I've ever had. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I had been looking for a recipe for Huevos Rancheros w/black beans. This dish is DELISH! The black beans and pico are soooo good. This will be on my list of things to make often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augustmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very yummy! We used store-bought salsa instead, and it turned out great. We melted lots of extra cheese on top. Next time will serve with sour cream. Thanks for a great, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Quick, easy, and awesome. I never imagined that egg + black beans would taste so good! I used my own canned salsa instead of making the pico de gallo. I've never cooked with chipotles before (though I've eaten dishes with that flavor in restaurants so I knew I liked it) so one canned, finely chopped, came to a bit over a teaspoon. The rest I laid out on waxed paper to freeze (and store later), and I froze the rest of the adobo sauce in a small container. Actually, in retrospect, I might freeze the sauce in ice cube trays, as it seems like a little bit would add nice complexity to sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiny Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was excellent! My fiancé has been begging me to make huevos rancheros for him, and this came out just like he hoped it would! I did use store-bought salsa, though, and scrambled my eggs with cumin and cilantro instead of frying them, which gave the dish some extra flavor. Used chili powder (maybe 1 T?) in the beans instead of the chilies (it was all we had), and they were great. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good. I used jarred salsa and should have followed the recipe and used fresh. I would also suggest topping with the hispanic goat cheese (sp?) and placing under broiler for 1-2 minutes for a browned, cripsy finish. Love teh black bean mixture- so much better than refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I only thought it was okay. It seemed to be lacking that Mexican flavor I really love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A spicy, hearty way to start the day! Great for the weekends when you have more time to spend on breakfast, although this would be great for dinner too. It's very filling - if you have this for a lazy Sunday breakfast you won't be hungry again until dinner! Plus, you will almost need a nap after breakfast. ;-) I made two changes. 1) I poached the egg to make it a little healthier. 2) I mashed up the bean mix a little bit. My beans were too liquidy, but mashing them fixed the problem. My measurements may have been a little off, because I adjusted the serving size to '1'. I think the egg/bean/salsa layers would be good on on top of hashbrowns too. I might try that next time if I didn't have tortillas on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are SUPER! Did as someone suggested and put them over hash browns since I had no corn tortillas. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftygal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States