Black Bean Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
My husband is from Central America and he loved these. He says it's one of his favorite meals I make. I haven't had the time to try it, but the only thing I can imagine making it better is fresh black beans. Not worth the extra work to me, but my husband would prefer it so if you're making these for someone of latin descent, you might want to make theblack beans yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Aparicio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
YUMM!!! I loved this recipe, never before thought to melt the cheese between tortillas first (versus using just tortillas). Love it and love the chipotle chiles, they add extra kick and smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This recipe is a staple for all meals for us. You can omit the eggs and just have it as soft tacos and use any cheese you want. Use just enough broth to keep the beans moist. Nothings better than Black Beans in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve&diane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos instead of using fresh, a can of diced green chiles and yellow onion. I ended up sautéing ½ a yellow onion and the garlic, and then added the tomatoes, a can of diced green chiles, broth and spices until slightly reduced and thickened. I then added the black beans until warmed through. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I used all of the ingredients in the recipe but adjusted them a bit according to personal taste. I'm not a fan of Heuvos Rancheros, but Husband is, and he said this was absolutely the best he's ever had. Because I made it super spicy (two jalapenos and three huge chipotle chiles in adobo sauce), I drizzled a little sour cream over the fried eggs, then sprinkled some fresh cilantro over that. AMAZING! I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks, ZZ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are SUPER! Did as someone suggested and put them over hash browns since I had no corn tortillas. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftygal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A spicy, hearty way to start the day! Great for the weekends when you have more time to spend on breakfast, although this would be great for dinner too. It's very filling - if you have this for a lazy Sunday breakfast you won't be hungry again until dinner! Plus, you will almost need a nap after breakfast. ;-) I made two changes. 1) I poached the egg to make it a little healthier. 2) I mashed up the bean mix a little bit. My beans were too liquidy, but mashing them fixed the problem. My measurements may have been a little off, because I adjusted the serving size to '1'. I think the egg/bean/salsa layers would be good on on top of hashbrowns too. I might try that next time if I didn't have tortillas on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I only thought it was okay. It seemed to be lacking that Mexican flavor I really love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good. I used jarred salsa and should have followed the recipe and used fresh. I would also suggest topping with the hispanic goat cheese (sp?) and placing under broiler for 1-2 minutes for a browned, cripsy finish. Love teh black bean mixture- so much better than refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was excellent! My fiancé has been begging me to make huevos rancheros for him, and this came out just like he hoped it would! I did use store-bought salsa, though, and scrambled my eggs with cumin and cilantro instead of frying them, which gave the dish some extra flavor. Used chili powder (maybe 1 T?) in the beans instead of the chilies (it was all we had), and they were great. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States