Black Bean Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This recipe is a staple for all meals for us. You can omit the eggs and just have it as soft tacos and use any cheese you want. Use just enough broth to keep the beans moist. Nothings better than Black Beans in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve&diane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos instead of using fresh, a can of diced green chiles and yellow onion. I ended up sautéing ½ a yellow onion and the garlic, and then added the tomatoes, a can of diced green chiles, broth and spices until slightly reduced and thickened. I then added the black beans until warmed through. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I used all of the ingredients in the recipe but adjusted them a bit according to personal taste. I'm not a fan of Heuvos Rancheros, but Husband is, and he said this was absolutely the best he's ever had. Because I made it super spicy (two jalapenos and three huge chipotle chiles in adobo sauce), I drizzled a little sour cream over the fried eggs, then sprinkled some fresh cilantro over that. AMAZING! I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks, ZZ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are SUPER! Did as someone suggested and put them over hash browns since I had no corn tortillas. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftygal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A spicy, hearty way to start the day! Great for the weekends when you have more time to spend on breakfast, although this would be great for dinner too. It's very filling - if you have this for a lazy Sunday breakfast you won't be hungry again until dinner! Plus, you will almost need a nap after breakfast. ;-) I made two changes. 1) I poached the egg to make it a little healthier. 2) I mashed up the bean mix a little bit. My beans were too liquidy, but mashing them fixed the problem. My measurements may have been a little off, because I adjusted the serving size to '1'. I think the egg/bean/salsa layers would be good on on top of hashbrowns too. I might try that next time if I didn't have tortillas on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I only thought it was okay. It seemed to be lacking that Mexican flavor I really love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good. I used jarred salsa and should have followed the recipe and used fresh. I would also suggest topping with the hispanic goat cheese (sp?) and placing under broiler for 1-2 minutes for a browned, cripsy finish. Love teh black bean mixture- so much better than refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was excellent! My fiancé has been begging me to make huevos rancheros for him, and this came out just like he hoped it would! I did use store-bought salsa, though, and scrambled my eggs with cumin and cilantro instead of frying them, which gave the dish some extra flavor. Used chili powder (maybe 1 T?) in the beans instead of the chilies (it was all we had), and they were great. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Quick, easy, and awesome. I never imagined that egg + black beans would taste so good! I used my own canned salsa instead of making the pico de gallo. I've never cooked with chipotles before (though I've eaten dishes with that flavor in restaurants so I knew I liked it) so one canned, finely chopped, came to a bit over a teaspoon. The rest I laid out on waxed paper to freeze (and store later), and I froze the rest of the adobo sauce in a small container. Actually, in retrospect, I might freeze the sauce in ice cube trays, as it seems like a little bit would add nice complexity to sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiny Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very yummy! We used store-bought salsa instead, and it turned out great. We melted lots of extra cheese on top. Next time will serve with sour cream. Thanks for a great, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States