Black Bean Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I reduced ingredients by a fourth to make a single serving. In the interest of expediency, I did not do the beginning part of the recipe and instead used Pace in place of the homemade salsa. As a result, I was able to make this in under 15 minutes. Made the black beans while the tortilla was heating up; it really was easy to make and was delish! I'm sure it would have been even better had I made the homemade salsa, but it seemed like too much work for one serving. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very delicious and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Wow... this was truly excellent. I didn't change a thing, and i had my fiancee begging for seconds. The cheese between the tortillas is such a great touch! thanks soo much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stanley Polley
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Pretty tasty. Spouse suggested more cheese melted on top. I found tortillas a little dry. Cilantro in salsa is a must. Think I'd also like it better if diced red onion were substituted for green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and it was delicious. As others mentioned, the beans were a little runny at first, but because I had to let them sit for about 1/2 hour and then reheat, they absorbed much of the liquid leaving a nice, thick, tasty sauce. Next time I make this dish (and there will be a next time) I will make the beans first and let them sit while preparing the salsa, etc. and reheat just before serving. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Great recipe! It is a little time consuming. I made the salsa and beans at the same time, and then I assemble and cook the eggs as needed. This is my lunch this week! It is so good! New favorite, I think. I had it for lunch and dinner today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was very good. I'd been wanting to try this for a long time and I had an open can of chipolte peppers to use up, so now was the time. The only changes I made was to add half a small onion in the beans and store bought salsa. Yum! I think I'm having this for breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
So disappointed! This took a long time to make and was not very good. There needs to be a LOT more cheese than just a half a cup. I didn't understand the point of adding chicken broth to the beans. It made them watery and I ended up straining them again. The salsa was good. This wasn't terrible, but just didn't feel like a cohesive dish. My boyfriend suggests maybe sandwiching the egg between the tortillas? I don't know, I won't be trying this again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was really good, but a lot of work -- I ended up using three skillets. My husband thought it was too spicy for breakfast, but I loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
My family really enjoyed these! The tortillas didn't quite crisp up enough in the oven so that was are only "complaint." We didn't have chilis or jalapenos, which would have made this recipe perfect! All in all, a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States