Black Bean Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and it was delicious. As others mentioned, the beans were a little runny at first, but because I had to let them sit for about 1/2 hour and then reheat, they absorbed much of the liquid leaving a nice, thick, tasty sauce. Next time I make this dish (and there will be a next time) I will make the beans first and let them sit while preparing the salsa, etc. and reheat just before serving. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Great recipe! It is a little time consuming. I made the salsa and beans at the same time, and then I assemble and cook the eggs as needed. This is my lunch this week! It is so good! New favorite, I think. I had it for lunch and dinner today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was very good. I'd been wanting to try this for a long time and I had an open can of chipolte peppers to use up, so now was the time. The only changes I made was to add half a small onion in the beans and store bought salsa. Yum! I think I'm having this for breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
So disappointed! This took a long time to make and was not very good. There needs to be a LOT more cheese than just a half a cup. I didn't understand the point of adding chicken broth to the beans. It made them watery and I ended up straining them again. The salsa was good. This wasn't terrible, but just didn't feel like a cohesive dish. My boyfriend suggests maybe sandwiching the egg between the tortillas? I don't know, I won't be trying this again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was really good, but a lot of work -- I ended up using three skillets. My husband thought it was too spicy for breakfast, but I loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
My family really enjoyed these! The tortillas didn't quite crisp up enough in the oven so that was are only "complaint." We didn't have chilis or jalapenos, which would have made this recipe perfect! All in all, a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious. I used a whole wheat tortilla, laughing cow queso fresco and topped with scrambled eggs rather than fried.. I added some fat free sour cream.. loved this. Had this with mexican quinoa and really enjoyed my dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great recipe. Cooked our eggs sunny side up and the runny yolk added just the right flavor and moisture to the dish. IMO the fresh cilantro adds just the right touch. A simple keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Delicious!! I make this quite often, I use whatever kind of cheese I have on hand. Last time I made it with mashed pinto beans with equally good results as the black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
My husband is from Central America and he loved these. He says it's one of his favorite meals I make. I haven't had the time to try it, but the only thing I can imagine making it better is fresh black beans. Not worth the extra work to me, but my husband would prefer it so if you're making these for someone of latin descent, you might want to make theblack beans yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Aparicio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States