Black Bean Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Lots of different parts to this dish, but they all come together nicely. Served this to a group and they all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
When I first tried this recipe, I may have overcooked the beans a tad. And I didn't understand the concept because it seemed like the beans just rolled off the tortillas. So the next time I made it I had an epiphany and made the beans the same, but I then threw the mixture into a blender and (after allowing some time to cool), blended the mixture along with a little sour cream and more chicken broth (if needed) to create a thick black bean sauce that I then pour over the egg and tortillas, then put the pico de gallo over the top. I really didn't change any ingredients, but changing the form of some of the components really made it work so much more for my tastes. I get rave reviews on this recipe when I make the black bean sauce, which makes this a five star recipe at that point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Amazing! Don't leave anything out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I reduced ingredients by a fourth to make a single serving. In the interest of expediency, I did not do the beginning part of the recipe and instead used Pace in place of the homemade salsa. As a result, I was able to make this in under 15 minutes. Made the black beans while the tortilla was heating up; it really was easy to make and was delish! I'm sure it would have been even better had I made the homemade salsa, but it seemed like too much work for one serving. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very delicious and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Wow... this was truly excellent. I didn't change a thing, and i had my fiancee begging for seconds. The cheese between the tortillas is such a great touch! thanks soo much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Pretty tasty. Spouse suggested more cheese melted on top. I found tortillas a little dry. Cilantro in salsa is a must. Think I'd also like it better if diced red onion were substituted for green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and it was delicious. As others mentioned, the beans were a little runny at first, but because I had to let them sit for about 1/2 hour and then reheat, they absorbed much of the liquid leaving a nice, thick, tasty sauce. Next time I make this dish (and there will be a next time) I will make the beans first and let them sit while preparing the salsa, etc. and reheat just before serving. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Great recipe! It is a little time consuming. I made the salsa and beans at the same time, and then I assemble and cook the eggs as needed. This is my lunch this week! It is so good! New favorite, I think. I had it for lunch and dinner today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was very good. I'd been wanting to try this for a long time and I had an open can of chipolte peppers to use up, so now was the time. The only changes I made was to add half a small onion in the beans and store bought salsa. Yum! I think I'm having this for breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States