Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Really great dip - I would suggestt cutting the amount of salt in half though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This is a very flavorful and easy to make dip, the mayo and sour cream are not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
PLEASE, first off, DRAIN THE BEANS WELL. I mean, well as in paper towel them off. Insane sounding, but the first batch that I just made is as watery as all get out. I have cooked with beans before and don't know why I didn't do this. I also used a ton more cilantro, omitted the picante, and added lemon juice. As I am attempting to replicate a bean dip from the best local Mexican restaurants in Pgh, I put the mixture into a blender...it's gross looking but tastes good. I will also bake it to get it warm (preference) and serve with blue corn chips. I hope that this works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dravosburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I had a huge amount of black beans and did not know what to do with them. Found this recipe and my husband loved it. Great for super bowl Sunday. Substitued chili powder with paprika, subtitued green chilis with jalopenos. Worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
First, as to the other reviews that say it is way too salty, the salt and olive oil are to make the chips not to put in the dip. I thought it had a really good flavor, I may add more beans or less picante because it was a little too watery. Or add shredded cheese to thicken it up. My husband wants to try to add chicken...? But it had a great flavor and it was super easy. For me these are all items I almost always have on hand too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
OK, but DO NOT ADD ANY OF THE SALT !! Idea is good but have to make one more time to see if I can tone it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Laveen, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This recipe is pretty good. I added lime juice and onions to add some extra fresh flavors. I also only used about 1/4 c. salad dressing instead of 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My husband enjoys bean dip waaaaay too much. I left out the Miracle Whip and used FF sour cream, and he couldn't tell the difference! Flavorful and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
What is up with all the salt in this recipe? I made it and could not eat it. Way to salty for me. Saved it by adding more beans and unseasoned ground round and eating it on a tortilla with tomatoes, lettuce and sour cream. Omit the salt. Chile powder and garlic powder have salt in them. Dawn Kraus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Not too shabby. I used smart balance brand mayo instead of a miracle whip, just used a pinch of salt, had no cilantro, but it is pretty good. I did add just a splash of lemon juice as someone else mentioned and I think it adds to the flavor. GO for it. It is a nice alternative to a really fatty dip. Oh, I even ommitted the olive oil. So it is worth a shot, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States