Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Its not very good. It's very watery, and the taste isn't that great. However, I did use mayonnaise in place of dressing, and used 7 oz of green chiles, and omitted picante. I just made the dip, not the chips. It was very thick, so I stuck it through the blender. It's appearance is not good, though I don't usually judge on that (I am because its for a party) and its flavor isn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
OK, but DO NOT ADD ANY OF THE SALT !! Idea is good but have to make one more time to see if I can tone it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Laveen, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
PLEASE, first off, DRAIN THE BEANS WELL. I mean, well as in paper towel them off. Insane sounding, but the first batch that I just made is as watery as all get out. I have cooked with beans before and don't know why I didn't do this. I also used a ton more cilantro, omitted the picante, and added lemon juice. As I am attempting to replicate a bean dip from the best local Mexican restaurants in Pgh, I put the mixture into a blender...it's gross looking but tastes good. I will also bake it to get it warm (preference) and serve with blue corn chips. I hope that this works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dravosburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
great dip. I used a little less dressing (reduced fat mayo) and left out the hot sauce, picante and green chile. I also added a 1/4 to 1/2 cup of onion i'd sauted with garlic and a tsp. of cumin. I sprinkled a little cheese on top and put it under the broiler for a few minutes before serving. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I had a huge amount of black beans and did not know what to do with them. Found this recipe and my husband loved it. Great for super bowl Sunday. Substitued chili powder with paprika, subtitued green chilis with jalopenos. Worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I added some cumin do this recipe and used jalapeno instead of green chillies (what I had available). It turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
We loved the flavors in this dip! The only thing we deviated from on the recipe was the salt, we only used 1/2 of what it called for. Very easy to make too, always a plus at this house. Great dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This recipe is pretty good. I added lime juice and onions to add some extra fresh flavors. I also only used about 1/4 c. salad dressing instead of 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Really great dip - I would suggestt cutting the amount of salt in half though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States