Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is so good. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Ok...just gotta say it, this recipe is very poorly written but a bit of common sense should save the day. First, for those who say it's too runny, omit the olive oil: it's for making the chips. Also, drain off the beans, reserving the liquid & add reserved liquid as needed to get the consistency you want. Second,for those who think the recipe is too salty, if you read the recipe you might notice that salt is not one of the ingredients that goes into the dip. It also is for making the chips. Third, what is the picante sauce used for? It is not mentioned in the directions at all....just listed with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used two cans of black beans instead of one, and kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I didn't like how runny it was with using just one can. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is a 5 star recipe, it is just written incorrectly. I smashed the beans with a potato masher and added mayo, sour cream, chiles, cilantro, chili powder, garlic powder and a drop of pepper sauce (mine is extra spicy). DO NOT add the olive oil and salt! Mixed it all well and put it in the refrigerator. I didn't make my own tortillas, just used some bagged tortilla chips. VERY VERY good. I didn't add the picante sauce either and it had a perfect texture! But I am not a picante fan. This dip is not very salty at all, if you don't add the salt, but is perfect with salted tortilla chips. So if you go with low salt tortilla chips, you might want to add 1/2 tsp of salt or so. Thanks dramstad! Very yummy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Yummy! Based on other reviews, I added about 3/4 C finely diced onion, 3-4 T of lime juice, and I doubled the cilantro (since I had a bunch.) Also, I didn't have chile peppers, so I added a lot more than a dash of hot pepper sauce. I was too lazy to make my own chips, but maybe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIRSHON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My husband enjoys bean dip waaaaay too much. I left out the Miracle Whip and used FF sour cream, and he couldn't tell the difference! Flavorful and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
First, as to the other reviews that say it is way too salty, the salt and olive oil are to make the chips not to put in the dip. I thought it had a really good flavor, I may add more beans or less picante because it was a little too watery. Or add shredded cheese to thicken it up. My husband wants to try to add chicken...? But it had a great flavor and it was super easy. For me these are all items I almost always have on hand too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
What is up with all the salt in this recipe? I made it and could not eat it. Way to salty for me. Saved it by adding more beans and unseasoned ground round and eating it on a tortilla with tomatoes, lettuce and sour cream. Omit the salt. Chile powder and garlic powder have salt in them. Dawn Kraus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Not too shabby. I used smart balance brand mayo instead of a miracle whip, just used a pinch of salt, had no cilantro, but it is pretty good. I did add just a splash of lemon juice as someone else mentioned and I think it adds to the flavor. GO for it. It is a nice alternative to a really fatty dip. Oh, I even ommitted the olive oil. So it is worth a shot, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Its not very good. It's very watery, and the taste isn't that great. However, I did use mayonnaise in place of dressing, and used 7 oz of green chiles, and omitted picante. I just made the dip, not the chips. It was very thick, so I stuck it through the blender. It's appearance is not good, though I don't usually judge on that (I am because its for a party) and its flavor isn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States