Black Bean, Corn and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This recipe was delicious, as with any chili it was definitely better the next day. Also it makes quite a bit so I ended up freezing some. I only made a couple changes, I cooked it in the crockpot for my convenience. I also used diced tomatoes instead of salsa, I added white beans as well as the black beans, and I left out the sugar. I will definitely be making that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Delicious! Substituted Quorn crumbles and vegetable broth to make this vegan: absolutely delicious. My non-vegan husband topped it with Mexican sour cream and shredded cheddar, and added cornbread as a side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
my kids, husband and me LOVED this dish! Quick easy delish! I plan on adding a can of crushed tomatoes next time just for bulk, but trust me it was excellent with out it! I used 1 sweet and low packet in it instead of the sugar and because i wanted the tomato more predominate I uped the salsa to 1 1/2 cups. Plan on making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: White Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was ABSOLUTELY appreciated in my house... This is the 2nd time I'm making it..the first was not even a week ago! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
delicious made a 1/2 batch and froze it for quick lunches. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
So very simple...so very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a yummy alternative to classic chili. I ended up making it more of a soup than a chili by adding extra broth. I was out of salsa so I used a can of enchilada sauce. Also used frozen corn. This was good with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was really quite good. My family loved it and everyone had two bowls. It was a bit spicy because I used the Pace salsa w/medium heat I think. My family always complains that there is never enough meat in Chili....so I added and extra pound of ground Turkey and also one can of Rotel diced tomatoes. This is a keeper....we will definately eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorilee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Good turkey chili. Cut the sugar to maybe a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is a great base for a chili recipe! I made a few changes, one by accident. I sauteed the onion and 3 small chopped bell peppers in 1-2 Tbl. Olive oil before adding 1 1/2 lbs. of ground turkey. After the turkey was almost browned, I added 5 cloves of minced garlic (instead of garlic powder) and the spices (I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon and omitted the sugar). I stirred those together for about 5 minutes. I then added one can of crushed tomatoes (instead of salsa), one can of black beans (drained, but not rinsed), and about a can's worth of frozen corn. I covered and let it simmer for 30 minutes. After it was almost done, I looked at the recipe and realized I forgot the chicken broth! It was a good mistake though. It would have been too watery had I added it. It definitely needed salt for flavor, but I would prefer to add that to my own bowl anyway. I garnished with plain yogurt and cheddar cheese. My kids LOVED it! My son said he'd eat it cold in his school lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States