Black Bean, Corn and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I loved it but also made a couple of changes. Instead of regular black beans in water and salt that I had to drain, I used the entire can of Cuban style black beans for extra flavor and thickness of the liquid that came with it; thus, omitting the broth listed on the recipe. I also sauteed fresh garlic along with the onions. I do like it a tad bit thicker so I julienned a couple of tortillas towards the end of cooking time to add to the texture and flavor. I served it as is in a bowl and topped it with sour cream, shredded cheddar and sliced green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
a good recipe but I doubled the onion and put in some garlic put in a bunch of fresh plum tomato put in some pace hot sauce and pace mild salsa used frozen corn and the dry beans not can and just soaked the beans overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I liked this recipe but would omit the sugar. It took away from the flavor of the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
My kids love this. Fast mid-week meal, I always have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I added cayenne pepper to make it a little spicier, and only used about a half cup of broth (which was still a little too much). It turned out great. Good with rice or ramen noodles too. Someone recommended lime, and i'd agree, otherwise omitting the sugar and/or adding extra chili powder. I did taste it before adding the sugar, and it was great. It seems the sugar killed all the good flavors, and really changed the taste (which was why I added the cayenne & extra chili powder afterwards). I see many chili recipes with sugar, so i guess it's just preference. Still a great healthy & quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maralin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was a good base for a turkey chili. I did make some of the suggested changes. I used only 1 tablespoon of chili powder, added chopped garlic instead of garlic powder, added a can of rotel tomatoes and even added a can of tomato paste because I found it to be way to runny for a chili. the tomatoe paste thickened it up to a better consistency. has a lot of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use up some holiday leftovers, and this one did the trick, with the following modifications: Omit ground turkey. Add 1 cup each cooked, diced turkey and cooked diced ham in step 2 before bringing to a boil. Used about a cup of leftover corn instead of canned. I served in a bowl over some leftover mashed potatoes and topped with a bit of shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Delicious! I changed a lot though. I seasoned the meat as I would season any other. Used black and kidney beans rinsed. Can of corn. And 2-3 jars of salsa. That's it. My family loves it with crackers or cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was simple to make yet tasted great, I did use leftover baked turkey instead of ground. Served it with cornbread Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States